Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
918 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been searching around for insurance and the best quote I've got is ,from AIS and State Farm, $1,100 per 6 months. This to me seems outrageous but I was told it was because I have only 7 years driving experience and I am not putting a car on the policy. I was told the premium would drop significantly after 9 years of experience(2 more years for me).

I have a perfect record so what gives with the insane price? What were your guys experiences with your first bike insurance policy?

·
Registered
179 Posts
I shopped around for about 2 weeks and finally went with Progressive at about $550.00(full coverage) for the the entire year. I got quotes as high as you did and thought that was insane. The next closest was through the insurance company that insures my car at $666.00. Call me superstitious but I declined their offer.
I have been driving for over 19 years with no citations within the past 3 years.

·
Registered
224 Posts
Call several different State Farm agents. You would be surprised how prices can vary per agent. Also consider adding your car, this will usually get you the best rate. They claim thath they need to make a certain amount of money from you. I had a perfect driving record for over 20 years and still was getting quoted like 24 hun. I told them to go somewhere. I never gave up, and eventually got state farm for $50 per monts SWEET!!!

·
Premium Member
918 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I got a quote that included my car for about $40 for the bike. Unfortunately that car will either be sold or put on Non-Op very soon so there is no point in me getting a quote with that. My other option was putting my 67' Mini on the policy, but seeing as how it already has a ridiculously cheap insurance rate on it there is no reason to. I have to insure just the bike. My only savior might be getting on my dad's insurance, maybe.

·
Registered
142 Posts