Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, so I've been watching a lot of MotoGP and WSBK lately. I always watch closely to each rider's riding style since I'm still learning. One thing that I noticed from a few riders is that some won't fully 'hug' their outside leg while cornering. I attached a recent race photo from WSBK to show you what I mean.

I've been taught at California Superbike School to use your outside leg to hug against the tank. Even for me I still have problems fully hugging the tank at times. I've adjusted my seating position and my rearsets to try to find that perfect point of contact between my knees and the tank at a race position. Just as people say with a fist between the tank and your crotch, I find that the best position for me to have the most contact with my knees and the tank while leaning.

I've read several threads about this and have gotten different input. I feel that having my outside leg having solid contact with the tank while cornering, I'm able to relax pretty much all of my upper body and inside leg. But whenever I see a few racers NOT have that solid contact with their legs against the tank, I'm just curious to know if there are any advantages with that style. Are you able to hang off more and keep the bike more upright? What do you guys do?

Attachments

·
Registered
7,045 Posts