Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in the midst of getting new tires, keep in mind that I'm a broke college student. I'm looking for a good quality tire for cheap. I found a website that suited my needs but thought I'd make a call to my local shop to keep my business local. I was left a voicemail for a few quotes on tires one was for a continental $110 for the front and $150 for the rear and the next quote was for dunlops with even more of a ridiculous number. No biggie I think to myself I can talk him down to a fair price afterall I found michellins for $196 sold, bought, and paid for. I kid you guys not I have heard every excuse in the book but he was feeding me lines I've never heard before. He started talking about dates on tires tread wear from sitting in the warehouse. I mean come on. Perhaps I'm just ranting but here's my question.

How do ma and pa shops stay open when they don't want to make money? Even a $20 profit is better than losing the customer all together I won't even look in his direction anymore.

tl;dr: I understand.

·
Registered
2,722 Posts
I actually saw a news report some time back that its VERY important to go by the dates on tires. There may not be an imprinted date on the tire, but there's some code on the tire that lets people know how old it is and when it was manufactured. The report said its unsafe to sell a tire thats past a certain age. So he wasnt bs'ing you about that.

·
Registered
280 Posts
Many online retailers are just that. They sell large quantities and have a completely different overhead compared to a mom & pop.

The key is this:

Find a ma & pop shop that does GOOD work. Then don't question their retail prices. You'll get great service and know you'll be taken care of.