Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

21 - 26 of 26 Posts

Super Moderator
12,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #21
Big dealy at the start wasnt sure they would race tbh?? glad they did and of course just after the race it poured lol crazy weather gods

Recap via
Maverick Vinales fought his way to the front, then held off the flying Ducati of Andrea Dovizioso, to win on his Yamaha debut at a wild Qatar MotoGP.

Rain arrived just minutes before the planned race start, promoting a 40-minute delay and reduction in race distance from 22 to 20 laps.

But when the action did begin it was worth the wait, with rookie Johann Zarco sensationally leading the early stages, only to fall from his Monster Yamaha Tech 3 machine on lap 7.

Dovizioso then took over, keeping his GP17 ahead of Honda's reigning champion Marc Marquez and Suzuki's Andrea Iannone - the pair spending the middle stages exchanging some close moves over second place.

Iannone lowsided out of podium contention (just as he had done for Ducati a year ago) on lap 11, while Marquez faded - almost certainly after a last-minute change to a softer front tyre.

Their places at the front were swiftly taken by Vinales and team-mate Valentino Rossi, who had worked their way up the order from fifth and seventh on the opening lap.

Vinales was able to reel in and then attack race leader Dovizioso. However the Ducati rider unleashed superior horsepower and repeatedly re-passed the Spaniard, with Rossi lurking in third.

But Vinales, dominant throughout winter testing and free practice, kept up his assault, pushing his M1 to the limit - smoke rising from his rear tyre - to gain enough space on the final lap and win by 0.461s.

Dovizioso had used the start delay to change from the medium to soft rear tyre, which probably cost him a little grip at the end. The Yamahas stuck with the medium, aiding their late charge.

Rossi finished one-second behind Dovizioso, but was delighted with a podium after such a difficult winter and practice. By contrast, Marquez was left 6.7s from victory and only just held off Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa.

Aleix Espargaro enjoyed an excellent debut for Aprilia with sixth, ahead of Scott Redding (Pramac Ducati), Jack Miller (Marc VDS Honda), Alex Rins (Suzuki) and Jonas Folger (Monster Yamaha Tech 3).

Jorge Lorenzo's chances of a memorable Ducati debut effectively ended when he ran wide on the opening lap and dropped to 16th place. The triple MotoGP champion recovered to eleventh.

Loris Baz (Avintia Ducati), Hector Barbera (Avintia Ducati), Karel Abraham (Aspar Ducati) and Tito Rabat (Marc VDS Honda) completed the point scorers.

KTM's first full MotoGP season began with Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith 16th and 17th. Espargaro was four-seconds behind Rabat but six-seconds clear of his team-mate.

Aprilia rookie Alex Lowes was 17th and last on a night when 47-seconds covered the entire field.

Like Marquez, Cal Crutchlow had used the start delay to switch from the hard to medium front tyre, a decision he also appeared to regret, falling twice from his LCR Honda.

Danilo Petrucci (Pramac Ducati) and Alvaro Bautista (Aspar Ducati) joined Zarco, Crutchlow and Iannone on the DNF list.

Super Moderator
12,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #22
Race Results:

1. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 38m 59.999s
2. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 39m 0.460s
3. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 39m 1.927s
4. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 39m 6.744s
5. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 39m 7.127s
6. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 39m 7.660s
7. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 39m 9.781s
8. Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 39m 14.485s
9. Alex Rins ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 39m 14.787s
10. Jonas Folger GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 39m 15.068s
11. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 39m 20.515s
12. Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP15) 39m 21.254s
13. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 39m 28.827s
14. Karel Abraham CZE Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP15) 39m 29.122s
15. Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 39m 29.469s
16. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 39m 33.600s
17. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 39m 39.703s
18. Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 39m 47.130s
Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP17) DNF
Andrea Iannone ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) DNF
Alvaro Bautista ESP Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP16) DNF
Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* DNF
Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) DNF

Super Moderator
12,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #23
Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Maverick VIÑALES Yamaha SPA 25
2 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati ITA 20
3 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha ITA 16
4 Marc MARQUEZ Honda SPA 13
5 Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 11
6 Aleix ESPARGARO Aprilia SPA 10
7 Scott REDDING Ducati GBR 9
8 Jack MILLER Honda AUS 8
9 Alex RINS Suzuki SPA 7
10 Jonas FOLGER Yamaha GER 6
11 Jorge LORENZO Ducati SPA 5
12 Loris BAZ Ducati FRA 4
13 Hector BARBERA Ducati SPA 3
14 Karel ABRAHAM Ducati CZE 2
15 Tito RABAT Honda SPA 1
17 Bradley SMITH KTM GBR
18 Sam LOWES Aprilia GBR
22 Johann ZARCO FRA
21 - 26 of 26 Posts