Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Ocho Cinco
1,715 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay... How many of you ride year round? Not because of weather conditions, but because a motorcycle is your only means of transportation. I'm thinking about doing this... your thoughts? Anyone here do it?

P.S. I live in CA, so it is an option for me...

·
Registered
9,216 Posts
it would be pretty hard in my area to truly ride year round because of snow and ice storms.

but my neighbor a few houses down has a BMW touring bike he rides to and from work 9 times out of 10. rain or shine. i think he takes the train to work tho when its really bad out.

i bet it would be hard on a RR

·
Registered
142 Posts
I've been riding for the last 3 months because my car is curently down. Sure its cold but I just layer up and I'm all good. Oh and I ride 80 miles a day to go to school.

I do park it when it rains, I just bum a ride when that happens.

·
Registered
534 Posts
a buddy of mine does it now. its aight that its 81 and clear here being december. on rainy days he gets rides from his g/f or another friend. He was headed to my house one day, got to the corner of his street and it poured on him....

personally i couldnt do it. i ride my bike as a hobby...couldnt do it for a means of transportation.

·
Registered
2,266 Posts
I wouldn't suggest it. You're at the mercy of the weather and you really can't carry anything on it. You can't really even make a trip to the grocery store without a car.

Of course living in MN, its not an option anyways. We have about a foot of snow out there right now.

·
DID has A beard
322 Posts
Even though it do-able, its generally a good idea to still have a beater car for those occasions that you really do need a car. Your transportation is weather dependent and you really cant carry much on the bike.

·
Registered
323 Posts