Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think I know the answer I'm going to get but will ask anyway. I've been riding motorcycles here and there for 20 years and just bought my first bike. I have a motorcycle license. I'm guessing my total experience is somewhere around 1,500 miles. I feel like I'm a safe driver and know my way around a car. I've probably done 50 or more track days in Porsche's and similar stuff.

Am I wasting my time with a Riders Edge course or is it a good idea? How much time do they spend showing you stuff like how a clutch works vs. real world safety and awareness tips? I'm not pretending to know everything or even that much about bikes, but some of the course descriptions look extremely beginner.

·
Registered
140 Posts
I just finished the "Basic Rider" course offered by the MSF here in PA and I felt it was a real good experience. I haven't been riding nearly as long as you but there were some guys there with 10+ years of experience and some really didn't fare well at first though that is not to say that you wouldn't! If you have the time then take the course unless it's really out of your way. I cruised around on a little Kawasaki Eliminator 125 and was surprised how much I enjoyed most of it. I'll get a discount on my insurance now too so hard to beat. It was free for me here in PA.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's good to know.

It's $350 in WI and the insurance discount amounts to about $5 per year at my age. I'm more interested in the time commitment than the money. $350 is money well spent if it saves me from trouble.

·
Registered
783 Posts