Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 117 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello folks,

In late November I purchased black CBR600RR with 17K+ miles on it and it was parked until now. I have zero bike experience. So since it's getting warmer I recently got an owner's manual and decided to learn about this bike.

Currently it's a bit far from perfect shape, it's missing rear turn signals and rear light, rear tail light doesn't work 100% and front tail lights are LED and doesn't work good. My plan is to replace front turn signals with OEM ones and simply reconstruct rear turn signals, rear light and tail light. After that I'm going to take it to my local mechanic for inspection and 16K miles maintenance procedure. I'm going to order lights soon and I hope to receive it within a week. I plan to start with rear lights first and then do front turn signals. Also exhaust seems to be a bit loud which may make my neighbors nervous! :D

I made this small video today so you may see the current state of my bike:

I hope it's just the beginning!

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Today I removed the REAR COWL and found that harness underneath it was a total mess. And something tells me I'll need a new wire harness... At some point harness shell ends and there are 4 cables coming out of it:

First is cut...

Second goes to turn signals and ends there somewhere coz there are no turn signals.

Third splits into two cables (one goes straight to tail light, another goes to some sort of resistor and then goes to tail light).

Forth in black shell also splits into two cables (one goes straight to tail light, another is soldered to the same resistor).

P.S.: Tail Light is not OEM. There is only single word on it "DOT". No part numbers, no Honda logo etc.