Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to riding and my 2007 CBR is my first bike.

I wanted to get a level set on expectations for riding and fatigue.

First I'm a very fit athletic type, good strength and aerobic endurance.

Even though I focus on gripping the tank with my legs, not putting weight on the bars, balls of feet on pegs, etc - I find that after an hour or so I'm getting some hand fatigue/numbness, a little crotch numbness (just a little) and overall fatigue.

Is this normal? Do you eventually get used to riding and be able to go longer? Or is it a function of bike geometry vs body type?

Thanks!

·
Registered
368 Posts
Yes. I am a new rider as well. My first ride was hell! You eventually get used to the seating position and the weight on the hands. The biggest problem I had was the back of my neck, but from riding a lot more I have been able to position myself on the bike where it does not bother me that much anymore. On my first and second rides my hands ached and cramped like crazy. Now, I am not so tense on the bike and I can enjoy it much much more.

·
Registered
86 Posts
I had the same problem for the first week, only avg'd about a hour riding time before hands went numb. I am up to about 2 hours now, usually if it starts happening I just sit farther back, straighten my arm so theres not so much pressure, or grip tank more with legs so I can lean back.

·
Registered
3,191 Posts
I don't think aerobic endurance has any correlation to fatigue when cruising on a bike. I've found that riding longer distances is easier the more I do it. The only thing that actually bothers me is my left ankle. It's not too bad if I move it around every once and awhile.

·
Registered
8,768 Posts
you are still gripping the grips to tight, thats the hand numbness, the nuts tigling, scoot back a bit off the tank.

·
Registered
2,075 Posts