Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. I am new to motorcycles, and will most likely (99.999% positive) be getting a used 600rr when I buy. I was wondering if there are any things in particular I should be looking for when I look at bikes. I know some of the basics to look for (chain, sprocket, tires, leaking liquids, battery), but I know there is a lot more I should be looking for.

What would make a bike a "great buy" and what would make you want to run from it as fast as possible??

Thanks in advance for the suggestions and advice!!

Sent from my iPhone using MO Free

·
Registered
766 Posts
Welcome to the board. Take an MSF course. Buy all the gear, helmet, jacket, gloves, boots. Don't skimp on the gloves. You can get a nice scorpion exo-700 helmet for around $150 online. Make sure you get the proper size or else it won't reliably protect you.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, I am already set to take the course in VA when I move down in a week. I am very much so looking forward to it!!

·
Registered
774 Posts
Welcome to the board. Take an MSF course. Buy all the gear, helmet, jacket, gloves, boots. Don't skimp on the gloves. You can get a nice scorpion exo-700 helmet for around $150 online. Make sure you get the proper size or else it won't reliably protect you.
to OP: what he said but make sure you go to a store and try it on first than buy it online if you are going that way.

·
Registered
126 Posts
Look for leaking.
Ask who did the maintenance on it.
Ask if I went to the track.
Ask to see the title-make sure it's authentic.
Bring cash-money in hand when looking.
Be able to walk away-never want it that bad.
Ride it! If it rides like crap RUN!
Track bike ware and tear-mirrors bolts being stripped-tape on the wheel weights-Hole in oil caps-fairings looking really good-maybe aftermarket.
Get it's whole story if you can. More info the better.