Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im new to riding and i must say i love it, i feel like i was meant to ride these monsters, but for some reason certain right hand turns i have problems making. i mean i dont drop the bike but i just feel uncomfortable making right turns sometimes. Does anyone else have this problem with making turns and not feeling comfortable and have some tips for me or is it something im just going to have to get used to over time?

·
Registered
191 Posts
Stay loose. If you want an idea of the basic technique head to borders or barnes and check out some of the sport riding books. The one by Lee Parks is a pretty good read, and helps show that bike set-up also determines a lot on how it handles.

·
Registered
138 Posts
I totally know what you mean. Back when I use to race pocketbikes right hand turns were way harder for me to get the bike over then left hand turns. Lots of seat time later i was able to throw the bike down on both sides, I recently started riding as well and I found the same thing on a sportbike. Each time I ride I feel more and more comfortable not only turning right but with the whole feeling in general so I'd say just keep on at it and ride safe.

·
Registered
2,632 Posts
First, turn your head and look where our want to go, not where you are going. Second, squeeze the tank with your knees, arch your back slightly, and use your back muscles to keep your weight off your hands.

·
Registered
2,023 Posts
I get the same feeling when trying to take right turns fast. I think it is because you are conditioned to taking left turns at lights, which makes it feel more natural.

·
Registered
1,917 Posts
im new to riding and i must say i love it, i feel like i was meant to ride these monsters
That mentality is gonna get you hurt out there.

Keep your ego in check, man.

just sayin'...

·
Registered
133 Posts