Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I’ve been diagnosing issues for my 2005 CBR600RR for a few weeks now. Now I’m stuck scratching my head because I cannot figure out why my main wire harness plug isn’t getting any power from the starter solenoid. (I am referring to the red plug that plugs into the top of the starter solenoid and covers the top of the fuse) If I put a test lead from the positive terminal of the battery to the inside of the red wire coming out of the plug, the dash turns on and it seems like the bike is getting power. So I’m not sure why when it’s plugged in and everything’s set, once I turn the key there just nothing. What could possibly be causing this? Again, when I put direct power to that red wire coming out of the plug; the bike gets power.
Hood Motor vehicle Automotive tire Gas Automotive exterior

·
Registered
370 Posts
Do you see B and M next to big battery terminals of starter solenoid?

·
Registered
370 Posts
Those wires look in a bad way. Have you checked them for breaks and continuity from end to end?
Have you checked the main 30amp fuse?
Yeah wiring's in bad shape and should be redone. Don't doubt they can be contributing to your problems. Easy enough to replace: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XC7KY6S/
Also non-factory starter-solenoid should be probed and tested for proper pin-outs. May not match factory connector.

Yes, I believe the poles are correct/polarity is correct
Broken starter solenoid then, that's why you're not getting power at red wire
Measure resistance between B terminal and each of 4 connector terminals (unplug connector 1st)
1. ohms = ???
2. ohms = ???
3. ohms = ???
4. ohms = ???

Only way to "check" fuse. I'd be trillionaire if I had dollar for every time I heard, "Fuse looks OK", but actually didn't conduct electricity. Actually fired mechanic from my shop for not measuring and wasting tonne of time & money swapping out entire fuel & ignition system.