Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i was on the 10 east heading from LA to pomona when a ninja--- didnt really know what year--- flies by me on the carpool and my first instinct ofcourse was punch the gas.... fly past um at 150+ and as i slow down i feel this jerk come from my front wheel that goes from a one in power to a damn 10....... after i accept the fact that i was about to go down and sh*t myself suddenly it stops.... speed limit all the way home... what to do?

·
Registered
194 Posts
From what I have heard and read up on (Im no pro so correct me if Im wrong), stay loose and let the bike correct itself. Being tense on the bars will only amplify the response. Glad to hear you didnt go down.

·
Registered
255 Posts
It's to my understanding that a tank slapper happens when the front tire comes down off center.. Especially at higher speeds.
I've had a few people tell me that you should do the exact opposite of what your instincts tell you and gas it. I guess taking the weight off the front and making it lighter makes it stop.

I've been lucky so far, I haven't experienced one yet.

On a side note, I used to ride the 10 all the time. I used to go from Fontana to Diamond Bar for work too. Definitely not a good freeway. Your front end probably popped up after hitting a pot hole or something and came back down off center.

·
Registered
277 Posts
I had one the other day on the back way home, I just rolled off the throttle a little and did not try to fight it. When the slaping started to slow I eased on the back break.
Thing with fighting it you are delayed, so by the time you turn to counter it needs to be turned the other way. Why give it gas yes it does take wight of the front tire but will make the crash a faster one.
One thing that does help is a streering damper.

Oh and when you get home change you underwear!!!!

·
BOTM Winner 04/14
819 Posts