Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I’m new to bikes and needing help. I have a 2016 cbr600rr. When I turn the bike on (engine not running), all lights turn on and go off. The only one that stays on is the oil pressure. I have check oil levels and they are fine. When I turn the engine on as soon as I release the starter button the bike shuts off. I press the starter button again and then the bike will turn on and oil pressure light turns off. Anyone have any idea what could be wrong?

·
Registered
735 Posts
Hi and welcome!

That's correct operation of oil-pressure light (not oil level).
Hi I’m new to bikes and needing help. I have a 2016 cbr600rr. When I turn the bike on (engine not running), all lights turn on and go off. The only one that stays on is the oil pressure.
Oil-preasure light stays on because engine isn't spinning, oil pump isn't spinning and there's no oil-pressure.

I have check oil levels and they are fine. When I turn the engine on as soon as I release the starter button the bike shuts off. I press the starter button again and then the bike will turn on and oil pressure light turns off. Anyone have any idea what could be wrong?
Oil-pressure lights turns off because engine is spinning, oil-pump is spinning and there's oil-pressure.

Oil level is something completely different. There is no oil-level sensor in engine, so you should check oil-level on sight-glass on side of engine before every ride.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi and welcome!

That's correct operation of oil-pressure light (not oil level).
Oil-preasure light stays on because engine isn't spinning, oil pump isn't spinning and there's no oil-pressure.

Oil-pressure lights turns off because engine is spinning, oil-pump is spinning and there's oil-pressure.