Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I've been riding for a little over a year now, 10k+ miles... I'm no expert or anything, but I can keep up with my friends. I rode a ninja 500, and now I've moved on to the CBR600rr '06

I ride safely, not really getting tooo close to my limit.

We go riding quite a bit, and I've never really been sure as to HOW to know what the right LINE through a turn is. I want to be able to take handle corners very well. I don't care about top speed, I care about rhythm and quickness.

Is there any resource you guys know of to fill me in?

I want to get quicker, I want to get better... I'll be safe, but I want to get good.

I know I can go to a track and practice there, but realistically it's too impractical.

Any and ALL suggestions will be appreciated.

·
Registered
66 Posts
I guess you 2nd from last line blew it for me. I do have a street bike, but I tend not ot go squiding it up on the street and screwing around. That's when you or someones else gets hurt, but that's just me.

I'd say take a race school. Plenty of good ones out there. Schwantz, Star, Keith Code, etc. If you're going to fall, better to do it there rather than have your bike slide into a car or friend.

·
Premium Member
13,432 Posts
If you are going to be riding on the street, then the only proper line is the one that will keep you safe. If you are riding the twisties, make sure you are not too close to the double yellow lines. Even if you are still on your side of the road, your body and head might be across the other lane.

You should not be worried about the fastest lines on the street; that will just increase your chances of getting killed. The bottom line is if you want to get truly fast, you need to take it to the track!

I hope you take this advice to heart.

·
Registered
1,030 Posts
Disco said: