Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I am really new to bikes in general and I am used to learning alot of my stuff from forums like these. Thats how I learned to mod my WRX as well as my RSX. I was looking for a general FAQ of some sort that goes over basic parts of a bike as well as basic mods and what to look for generally. For example, at nasioc.com (subaru forum) a moderator named Unabomber wrote up a huge FAQ that really helps newbs get their start. I am sure there are alot of members here that are very knowledgeable and capable of writing something like this.

Secondly, the reason I thought of this was because I couldn't find out what the difference were between swingarm sliders and swingarm spools were.

Thanks lots for your time guys.

·
Registered
3,558 Posts
Check out the build threads, you can learn alot just by seeing what gets done that way. As far as people who are very knowledgable and helpful, there's always Moeman, chrisw, paul46rider and so many others. Good luck and safe riding!!!

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah I understand that. I just think that it would be a good idea to link all these FAQs and stuff together. That would be great. Also, can anyone answer the second question?

·
Registered
3,558 Posts
I'm not too sure if it's just different names for the same thing, but I know spools are a way for rear stands to pick up the bike. I'm pretty new to the sportbike world myself and haven't looked too far into what is what just yet. I'm sure you'll have plenty of answers in here soon, so keep checking back.

·
Registered
222 Posts
Spools and sliders are the same thing. ACTUALLY, they ARE two different things but are pretty much one in the same

A swingarm spool is used for a rearstand. They are kind of like tabs that the stand grips to and uses to lift the bike