Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Should I attend a track school before I start going out to the tracks on my own? I'm a total newb to the track scene and am very interested but I have no idea what to expect. All I know is:

1) I need $$$ for tires
2) Some race fairings would be a good idea
3) I need a one piece suit

Is there a time and place on the track for a newbie like me or do I need more experience? I've only been riding for about a year but I've been riding the local twisties almost every weekend now and am starting to get curious about how I would fair on a track.

Also, any recommendations for the So Cal area? I keep hearing about Willow Springs...

·
Registered
3,495 Posts
Call me... and I can help you answer many of your questions (sames ones I had too)... over the phone.

I'll be happy to point you in a good direction.

Cheers... Nick - MRI

Lee600RR said:
Should I attend a track school before I start going out to the tracks on my own? I'm a total newb to the track scene and am very interested but I have no idea what to expect. All I know is:

1) I need $$$ for tires

Is there a time and place on the track for a newbie like me or do I need more experience? I've only been riding for about a year but I've been riding the local twisties almost every weekend now and am starting to get curious about how I would fair on a track.

Also, any recommendations for the So Cal area? I keep hearing about Willow Springs...

·
Registered
8,498 Posts
Lee600RR said:

1) I need $$$ for tires

I hear ya man..in the same boat...this is an expensive sport to get started in!!!!

·
Registered
336 Posts
1) Don't ever try to save $ on tires... It's your @$$ out there, and $350 you save by not buying a new set of tires might equal into a couple of grand you'd have to spend fixing the bike after a lowside etc...

2) Race fairing are lighter, and easy to fix if needed. Good investment, even if it's just for trackdays!