Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok. So i took my bike into the Honda dealer for a quick free checkup(they are awesome) because my battery had died twice while out on a ride. He came back to me and told me everything was perfectly fine. Then he asked me how i was riding both times it died. I told him that both times i was riding super easy due to a novice with me. He then told me news i didn't expect to hear. He told me my solution is to ride harder and higher rpms. Apparently the alternator kicks in and starts recharging the battery at higher rpms instead of low. Now im new to the supersport somewhat. I have ridden dirtbikes all my life, cruiser, then sv6550. Can anyone confirm that this is 100% true? Also how hard is too hard on the rpms. He said that i can ride it at 15 all day. Also i live in Texas where currently its almost unbearable to ride due to the extreme heat and humidity, how hot should my bike be getting?

·
Registered
4,187 Posts
i know from having a 600rr (2004) on the track all day running at red line, they will do it, however, anything above 4000rmp should be plenty to charge your battery.

·
Registered
14,362 Posts
I live in Austin and my bikes both idle around 220-225 sitting still when it's 100+ outside. If you're riding normally with the RPM's at 4K and up it should have no problem charging.

As far as high RPM's and hurting the motor, don't sweat it. My track bike runs between 12 and 15K pretty much 100% of the time and loves it.

·
Registered
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I live in Austin and my bikes both idle around 220-225 sitting still when it's 100+ outside. If you're riding normally with the RPM's at 4K and up it should have no problem charging.

As far as high RPM's and hurting the motor, don't sweat it. My track bike runs between 12 and 15K pretty much 100% of the time and loves it.