Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I pulled the trigger and got the 09 cbr in black/green. Picking it up sometime later this week. Thanks for all those who gave me input on my other thread.

I've been riding for about 6 years now, but almost exclusively on cruisers. I feel pretty good on the sport bikes, but I'm very interested in trying to find one of the sport bike courses to really get comfortable/experienced. Searching around online i only stumbled on beginner/intermediate courses and some military rider course.

I'm not interested in the parking lot courses. I was hoping to find one that has track riding, or something similar so that i can really get a feel for the bike along with some good coaching.

Any suggestions where I can find some info for one geared towards sport bikes? Also i know the beginner course gives you a discount on insurance, but is there something similar after taking the advanced one (only 22 so insurance is pretty high right now)?

·
Registered
28,565 Posts
youre probably not military, so scratch the military sportbike rider course.

if your insurance gives you a discount, then you should take some type of msf course just for that reason.

if you really wanna learn the bike, its handling, braking and power...
go to a trackday.
most trackday org's offer beginner courses where the instructors/control riders will give one on one guidance.

·
Registered
584 Posts
check out cornerspeed, they run a course at VIR which is not too far from you. It's a bit pricey but everyone I have spoken to about it has nothing but praise for the class.
Not sure if it really applies to your insurance, but it will almost certainly make you a better rider, and possibly introduce you to a new addiction.
MSF course might be more useful as far as insurance, much cheaper too, though you will certainly not get the experience of track school.

·
Registered
2,075 Posts