Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was just wondering how u guys feel about riding in the rain or right after a rain where the road is still wet. Im new to riding on the street and wondered if you had any tips or if you would advise waiting for it to dry up. thanks

·
Registered
187 Posts
Just go easier, there's no nuclear science for rain driving :)

- drive in higher gear
- don't power up too much when exiting corner
- avoid driving on asphalt (or is it tarmac?) lines
- easy on brakes and brake earlier
- in general, trust your instincts
- if it's longer trip get rain suit
- don't try to drag knee or elbow :crackup:

·
Registered
501 Posts
just keep the front wheel straight and give yourself plenty of room to stop other than that its not that scary.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Riding in the rain can be a great experience and will make you a better rider. I have spent a lot of time riding in the rain since I live in the Seattle area and I ride year around and I will tell you, it has made me a lot better rider than my friends who won't ride in the rain. It teaches you how to control the bike when you have less traction. You will be able to take those skills to the dry when your really pushing the bike and your on the edge of control.

When riding in the rain take a few things into consideration. First understand you can't lean as hard. (you would be surprised how hard you can lean though) Second you can't get on the throttle nearly as hard. This is really important in first gear. Its not hard to get the bike sideways in the rain with the amount of power the cbr has. Third watch out for white lines. They can be like ice when its wet. Lastly keep in mind your breaking distance will increase when its wet.