Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm new to riding as I just picked up my brand new '06 black 600rr this past weekend(yes I know it shouldn't be my first bike...but I love it :) and just noticed something last night while riding. After about 20 mins or so of riding, my thumbs start to get real sore near the base. At first I thought maybe my gloves were too tight, but the instant I let go of the handlebars my thumbs feel fine...it's like Im putting too much strain on the muscle when riding. Any suggestions for this? Im keeping my wrist as low as I'm comfortable with and I don't think I have any sort of death grip or anything....

K

·
0 Posts
abs and thighs. you should be loose on the bars with almost zero weight on them.

·
Registered
2,510 Posts
Johnny Candles said:
+1 Relax your grip and your arms. Don't rest your weight on your arms and wrists as much. Try holding yourself up with your abs and thighs.
+1...take the stress out by putting more weight onto your core and legs...this will help alleviate the pressure on your arms and wrists...

·
MotoGP NEWS Guru
5,051 Posts
RELAX! You don't need a death grip on the handle bars. Figure out where you are putting a lot of your weight. My guess is, you've locked your elbows and most of your weight is on your hands. Not only will this cause numbness in your hands, but it's a sure sign that your arms will not participate in the suspension of the bike, instead force a lot of unnecessary energy back into the bike say, when you hit ripples in the road, or under panic braking.

1. Don't lock your elbows. You should have a nice relaxed kink in your elbows. Think about it: Is it easier to steer a bike putting pressure on the bars from above, or from a more relaxed angle?
2. Don't grip so hard. Gripping hard is just going to prevent you from reacting well in a panic situation. Learn to be relaxed. You can't be smooth if you're muscling.