Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yo Im new to the RR but I just bought a new 600rr(2003). I finally broke 1650 and all of a sudden I heard chattering in the engine box. Next it down shifted lost power and blew out white smoke, after that it just finally shut off and oil was dripping everywhere. Took it back to the dealer and was told I threw a rod. They also said I stayed in the rev limiter which is rarely and I take good care of my bike. My bike did have minor smoke before all this happen so just trying to see if this is common in hondas or what. Any input? Thanks

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
Damn dude that sucks! NO WAY is that common for Hondas (or any late model sport bike for that matter) to be throwing rods that isn't HEAVILY modified at any milage. I've seen bikes throw rods across the track at drag strips but those bikes are blown, juiced, etc ... You REALLY need to get Honda to cover that! This is no way your fault. Let us know what happens!

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well they are fixing it cuz I know the service manager at the store. Im not sure if they are replacing the engine or just the parts. They want to do test on the bike though cuz they even say its not common

·
Registered
11,434 Posts
I'm sure Corporate Honda is going to want some answers for why that motor tossed a rod at 1,600 miles. Even if you didn't change the oil from break-in it shouldn't throw a rod. Someone's got some splainin to do!

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
^^ Exactly, i dont see how in hell you can throw a rod through a stock bike with that many miles no matter WHAT you do. I couldn't do that if i tried! Did someone forget to torque a rod cap bolt to spec? wrist pin? journal bolt? OOPS!!

·
Registered
344 Posts
are you the only owner of the bike?
for that many miles for an '03 was it sitting around for a long period of time?
this isn't common, what's the history of the bike?

·
Registered
11,434 Posts