Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can ANYONE tell me how to remove the tp sensor off my 2004, do I need to remove the airbox??? I can see the connector clip through the side, but how do u get that two bolts off that's holding it down??? Anyone got pix, please help a girl out!!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,768 Posts
Can ANYONE tell me how to remove the tp sensor off my 2004, do I need to remove the airbox??? I can see the connector clip through the side, but how do u get that two bolts off that's holding it down??? Anyone got pix, please help a girl out!!!!
tank cover, airbox, throttle cables, and throttle bodies must come out...


but my question is, whats the reason for removal? if to replace, this will fail, theres something about their calibration to the specifc set of throttle bodies they are on...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Im getting an 8 flash code someone suggested cleaning it 1st. So y can't I just remove it from the side where the side fairings are???
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,768 Posts
Im getting an 8 flash code someone suggested cleaning it 1st. So y can't I just remove it from the side where the side fairings are???
well, if its any thing like my 06 ... the tps is directly in line with the frame, and you would have to pull it towards the frame to get it off, which there is no room to do so.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well my plan was to try. I have small hands I can grip the conector. But how does those bolts come off. I've never seen them b4
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
My understanding is those bolts/screws are designed so they can't be removed. Basically the TPS was attached and calibrated, then the head of the bolt/screw was machined off so it couldn't be adjusted or removed. I think I've heard you can unscrew them if you are able to make a slot so you could use a flathead screwdriver.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
13,137 Posts
measure the output voltage from it to ascertain if it needs replacing, you can't clean it or service it at all unfortunately. And if it does need replacing it will mean replacing the throttle bodies...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
measure the output voltage from it to ascertain if it needs replacing, you can't clean it or service it at all unfortunately. And if it does need replacing it will mean replacing the throttle bodies...
I've seen a few tp sensors sold by itself, so I would still need to remove the sensor. So could that be a diy job???
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,768 Posts
I've seen a few tp sensors sold by itself, so I would still need to remove the sensor. So could that be a diy job???
if you are seeing them by them selves, some one ripped them off, and i wouldnt be surprised if they were damaged


there really is a reason you cannot, ever, buy them separately from honda, or any honda parts dealer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Btw my bike does not die out or stutter at high speeds. The idle ia just a little jumpy between 1&2000 elms.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
13,137 Posts
Btw my bike does not die out or stutter at high speeds. The idle ia just a little jumpy between 1&2000 elms.
Do you stunt?

Have you looked at the IACV?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Do the 2003-2006 bikes have an IACV? I think the equivalent is synchronizing the starter valve?

I wouldn't jump right to the TPS because of a bad idle. Did you test it? What were the voltages with the throttle closed and at WOT?

Have you done any maintenance work like air filter, plugs and fuel injector cleaner?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
13,137 Posts
Do the 2003-2006 bikes have an IACV? I think the equivalent is synchronizing the starter valve?

I wouldn't jump right to the TPS because of a bad idle. Did you test it? What were the voltages with the throttle closed and at WOT?

Have you done any maintenance work like air filter, plugs and fuel injector cleaner?
Yep, all RRs have an IACV, and all of them also have starter valves which shouldn't* ever need synchronising as it is done at the factory.

*It will only need to be done if you change part of the intake system or the throttle bodies.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Just changed a tps yesterday.

Before you remove yours, measure the resistance within the sensor with the throttle closed. There are three wires, but only two will produce a resistance with a multimeter between them. Write down this resistance. If you can find a replacement part, when you put it back on, keep the screws a little bit loose, as you will need to move the sensor clockwise/anti-clockwise in order to replicate the same resistance reading as before. It doesn't need to be perfect (mine was 930, now 934) as they are super touchy, but it better be close.

Once the bolts are tightened again, open to wide open throttle, close the throttle, Amd measure the resistance just to be sure it hasn't moved
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top