Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Premium Member
237 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thought I'd post a few pics from my last trackday last weekend. Although only my third time ever on a track, I must say that I'm so stoked at just how easy our bikes allow us to become better riders. You always hear that in all the magazine tests but after last weekend, I so believe it. One question I've asked Disco and others is now that I'm at this level, I was wondering if I should move up to stickier tires as I feel like I'm pushing my tires to their limits. I've been using the BT-016's for my last two trackdays and never had one issue. But any feedback if anyone feels like the BT-002's or the new BT-003's would be better please offer opinion. Thanks!

A friend of mine did the 2-up ride, I've done it as well and it is AMAZING! They hit 160mph down the straight every lap and my buddy was beside himself by the time he was done lol.

·
Registered
456 Posts
Wow, nice pics. I am no expert. But it seems to me like if your leaning the bike way over with street tires. I would just lean my body more and keep the bike a little straighter, I would be afraid of low-siding. Great work tho, And oh. Fvvvvvvvvvvck no on the 2up deal. no way jose.

·
Registered
6,502 Posts
Nice man, looking good out there!

·
Registered
2,023 Posts
You ride 2up to get a first hand experience of what instructors are talking about. It may look gay, but it takes some sack to get 2up with someone really fast.
The lean angle doesn't look that aggressive. I think those are stock rearsets, and they aren't dragging yet...

Hey az_cbr_1, how about those BT16s? How many TDs are you getting out of them at your pace?

·
Registered
922 Posts
You prolly won't exceed tire grip on entries for a while yet. So long as you don't start hammering it out of the turns you should be fine. Buddy of mine did a two-up last year and they were absolutely flying past the group. The instructor was on street tires...