Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, I have read a few threads but can't pinpoint the best place to start troubleshooting.

Bike won't start. Sat in garage for 4-6 months over winter. Added a small amount of seafoam to gas.

When key is in on position headlights do not come on. When kill switch is turned to run position, do not hear fuel pump priming. Battery fully charged and I believe to be good.

After trying to start for an hour, bike started once, ran for 10-15 min, geared up to ride and just before putting into 1st to take off, I turned high beam on which killed bike instantly.

Does this sound like a short? Bad relay or fuses? Rectifier?

Desperately need help. I have limited knowledge on bike mechanics but am good at figuring things out.

Thanks!

gauge lights turn on
fuses ok
battery fully charged with 12V charger
tail light works, horn works
switched fan relay with fuel pump relay, nothing

·
Registered
228 Posts
I know you said you believe your battery is ok, but make sure you KNOW your battery is good. Always rule out the simple things first.

·
Registered
131 Posts
Id start with the battery, put it on a trickle charger and see what happens, you should hear the fuel pump prime everytime you switch the kill switch so you might have a problem with the fuel pump

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
I know you said you believe your battery is ok, but make sure you KNOW your battery is good. Always rule out the simple things first.
Solid advice. I tested voltage today, 12.5 volts when key on and it drops to just above 11 volts when I press the starter button.

I know I said I checked relays, but being new to mechanics and very naive, I don't believe I tested them correctly. Just test all 4 slots in each 3 plugs for voltage and this is result:
forward most plug: no voltage in all 4 slots (i'm assuming 1 or 2 are grounds?)