Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm interested to know what kind of experiences you guys have had that have made you change the way you ride. Last night I was pulled over for the second time in a month. Lucky for me the cop was a nice guy and let me off with a warning. I've been riding on the street for two years now, the first year I did a lot of riding but took it easy to get the feel for the bike. But now that I'm so comfortable with the bike I've been having a hard time riding within the limits of the law.

So what I'm asking is for people to share their experiences that changed the way the ride on the street? Did it take going down or was there anything that made you change?

If you have never struggled with this then this thread doesn't apply to you. I'm asking for personal experiences not opinions on safe riding there are plenty of threads for that.

·
Registered
1,408 Posts
Burying 6 friends in a matter of 2.5 years did it for me.... plus a few close calls myself and watching a bunch of other people go down on group rides and whatnot. Got tired of watching people go down, having run in's with the popo at some point or another in the ride, etc. Hence the reason I don't do much of any group rides anymore and have become VERY picky on who I ride with. Also part of the reason I wanted to move out of south Florida.... moto fatalities are literally an almost every day thing down there more or less... got tired of meeting new people then a couple months later they were dead.... gets old pretty quick. Giving some good thought to the consequences of your actions, and running some accident scenarios through your head every once in awhile is usually pretty good idea to keep you in check