Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hopefully I'm posting this in the correct place, if not, I apologize.

I'm new to the world of motorcycles, I just finished my MSF course and got my license and I'm looking for my first bike. I don't want to get screwed, so I figured I'd come here and ask the experts as I'm assuming that you all know a great deal more than I do about all of this.

I'm looking for a CBR 600RR (duh), I don't care what year, but I figured something a few years older would offer me a better deal. I'm not looking at new bikes, too expensive and being that this will be my first bike, I don't feel it's necessary to go after something brand new.

I've looked at cycletrader.com and a few websites at local dealerships and the price ranges on bikes are huge and that has left me more than a little confused. I've seen bikes with a few thousand miles on them and the same year with no modifications selling for more than a $3,000 difference. I understand the workings of a free market economy and that anyone can ask any price for anything, but I just don't know what's a good benchmark.

So if I'm looking for a CBR 600RR between 2003 and 2005 model year, with no mods (or slightly modified...I don't really care, I just don't want a huge amount of high performance mods on my first bike)...what should I expect to pay?

Also, I'm familiar with the art of negotiating on the price of a car, but having never bought a bike before, I don't know where to start from as far as trying to talk them down. I'm not paying sticker price for a bike, I know that, but I'm not sure what's reasonable to ask someone to take their price down to.

One more question, sorry for making this so long and wordy...private seller or used from a dealership, or is there no difference? I just don't know exactly who to trust.

Thanks so much for everyone's help. I really appreciate it.

·
Registered
120 Posts