Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Can anyone tell me the differences between the 2003 and 2005 honda cbr 600RRs? I am thinking about getting a bike I have the choice of getting a mint condition 2003 for $4000 or a dropped 2005 (fairings are done for But im new to bikes and dont know what else may be bad)for $3500. Both have the same miles at 14k (Cant really afford over $4k) Could you guys list the differences and suggest which you would get and why? Thanks, Ryan

·
Registered
962 Posts
Fairings, I think the FI system is a little better on the 05. Thats it. I'd get the minty one if your not mechanically inclined. Dropped bikes can have alot of hidden problems. I'd say go with the nicer one, you wont regret it. Also i forgot the fork set up is different.

·
Registered
158 Posts
I have an '03 with about 30K on it. Never had any problems. Just make sure you maintain it properly. I don't think you will notice the difference between the two even if you rode them.

+1 Bump on not buying a crashed bike. Unless you are very confident in examining a bike to determine how bad the crash was I would avoid it.

My best bike purchases have been on stolen, salvaged title bikes. No one wants them because of the Salvage title, and everyone is afraid of how hard a stolen bike was ridden. I am sure it was ridden just as hard as any other bike and if it hasn't been laid down, it is a "steal", much pun intended. Costs la ittle more because you have to have a safety inspection before registering, but that isn't that Bad. I got an F4I when they first came out with 3K miles for $2,200. I rode it until about 25K until I sold it to someone for the same price I bought it.

Good luck on your decision. I say get the '03.

·
I AM The Righty
2,380 Posts
weight, gearing, forks, etc.
there are many differences but you should get the 2005 if you have the coin to pay for whatever repairs are needed.