Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok guys, im fairly new to the internet, new to the world of youtube and the likes.
my question is, is the uk the only place where it is the law to wear a helmet! i mean i saw a guy on youtube pullin a wheelie through a line of traffic on the highway 80+mph with nothing but some ****ing shorts on, WTF! that kinda **** gives us a bad name.
And another thing i want to know - at least one guy on this forum is 17yrs old and american and owns a 600rr, is this legal? i assume there is some kind of training and a test? dont you have to ride 125cc untill you reach 21?
please post with what you have have to do to ride a motorcycle on the street legally.

The deal here in the uk is at 17yrs old you must take a cbt test (compulsary basic training), pass that and you can ride anything up to 125cc with a learner plate on your bike untill you are 21yrs old. At 21 you may do a DAS (direct access scheme) which involves 30hrs training on a 500cc bike on the road and then a very tough riding test at the end of that. costs about £650 to do that stuff. i passed my test only 10 months ago and the the test have now changed, twice as hard and more expensive. do you guys have to do this or something similar? thanks

·
Registered
2,046 Posts
The rules are much different on this side of the pond. No protection required, no minimum bike size, very little training and testing (a matter of hours required). Basically, we vote against things that would make riding safer for people, haha. Odd isn't it?

edit: and we can do this at age 15 ;)

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The rules are much different on this side of the pond. No protection required, no minimum bike size, very little training and testing (a matter of hours required). Basically, we vote against things that would make riding safer for people, haha. Odd isn't it?

edit: and we can do this at age 15 ;)