Cam chain tensioner - 600RR.net
General Discussion General Honda CBR600RR Motorcycle Talk - please place mods, tech tips and off topic threads in the correct forums.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-22-2018, 05:20 AM Thread Starter
Knee Dragger

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cam chain tensioner

I know this topic has been covered many times,but as I’m new to 600cc I’m trying to do all my own maintenance etc. I’ve read a great deal on the cct sticking etc,but what I need to know to check mine is once I take the 8mm bolt out of the end,can I just wind the tensioner in with an appropriate screwdriver (assuming this is clockwise)then just pull the screwdriver out and let the tensioner pop back out in to place or is it not this simple?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-22-2018, 11:52 AM
Pocketbike Racer

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Are you taking about using an OEM tensioner, or an adjustable tensioner? An OEM tensioner will come with a little locking pin already installed, so it keeps the tensioner pin in place.
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-22-2018, 12:22 PM
AMA Supersport Racer

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Unless you hear excessive rattling coming from the throttle side (the side with the CCT) around 3-5k RPM I don't know that its worth checking.

A lot of screwdrivers are hard to fit in the space where the CCT is mounted. With the CCT off the bike, you can definitely fit smaller screwdrivers in there so the dimensions of the flathead are typically right. You can cut your own tool out of some scrap metal if you have it available, its just a long flat piece with a square head to lock the CCT. Try searching for CCT tool dimensions on google with site:600rr.net. Someone measured it out for people who want to cut their own.