Trackdays Privateers and Professionals
Sponsored by: MOTO-D Racing

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-25-2010, 10:48 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Understanding the Economics of Track Bikes

Hello,

Having all winter up here in Canada to just think about riding has got me pondering as to where my riding is headed as we enter into the new season.

I'm still relatively new at the whole motorcycle thing, but the whole point from the start has been to get on the track. I have quite a bit of track experience in a car, but I know this won't be of much use except through motivation to get started.

I have a 2007 600rr that I bought used in near perfect, all original condition (with a 5 year warranty). From my uneducated perspective it is hard to figure out when it is best to modify what you have (with fairings and sliders and whatever else you need to help prevent damage) and when it is best to buy a pre-prepped track bike. How many track days could you reasonably expect to get away without damage before it would be foolish to not swap out fairings and get some sliders (if any)? As a beginner is it overkill to show up with a track prepped bike, or would it be most practical as a beginner? I've seen some people suggest getting another brand of bike, since parts are cheaper and more available. Is this something worth considering when starting out, before investing heavily in one brand?

I'm not sure if this is an answerable question or not, but I figure some of you have been down this route and may have some wisdom to share.

Also, who of you who have started tracking have given up street riding altogether?

Thanks!

John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-26-2010, 03:35 AM
Post Whore Extraordinaire

Feedback Score: 16 reviews
No one can answer that for you man. Some people wreck their very 1st td, some go years without a wreck.