lean? rich? - 600RR.net
Exhaust & Fuel Delivery Tips on how to get the most out of your bike

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-07-2009, 02:53 AM Thread Starter
Pocketbike Racer

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
lean? rich?

i dont know to much about running lean and rich.. can someone break it down for me? ive heard that lean is running to much air.. and rich is running to much gass.

what are the benefits for either or. and wat is best for your bike?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-07-2009, 06:04 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm no expert and will gladly be corrected if I am incorrect!

Lean and rich usually refer to the amount of fuel vs air ratio's. Think of a certain volume, say 1 litre, this space can only be occupied by 1 litre no more no less, so if we have 50% air and 50% fuel we can not add any more volume to the litre. If the perfect air fuel ratio was 50/50 it would not be rich or lean, but if we changed the air to say 70% and the fuel to 30% then it would be lean. Conversely if we changed the air to 30% and the fuel to 70% it would be a rich mixture.

There are other factors such as air density, humidity and elevation effect this in many ways. As elevation increases air becomes thinner, the oxygen component becomes less, therefore your mixture if unchanged becomes richer. Humidity also makes your mixture richer, because of the water molecules in the air, taking up more space, less air, more fuel.

Thankfully modern efi eliminates most of the nightmares, until we put new exhausts, air filters etc with out re-tuning the efi system to match.

Or sensors give you nightmares and cold sweats doing what they want to do, irrespective of what they are being told!!
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-07-2009, 01:44 PM Thread Starter
Pocketbike Racer

what are the pros and cons of running lean.. and visa versa for rich?

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-07-2009, 01:50 PM
World Superbike Racer