250 or 450 (4-stroke) dirtbike - 600RR.net
Polls and Research Take a poll and discuss your research here

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 12:03 AM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
250 or 450 (4-stroke) dirtbike

whats up all...just wondering for those of you that are avid dirt riders. I am going to buy a dirt bike soon. Preferably a honda. I haven't ridden dirt in about 5 years. I am wanting to get back into it now and was wondering what your guys/girls opinions are.

I'm 5'10 165lbs and in pretty good athletic shape. I've been riding dirt/street for about 10 years but as i said before no dirt in the last 5. I'll be doing little track riding and mostly trail riding with a few dune trips mixed in there. I have about 4k to play with. Thanks for all the advice in advance!

Steve
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 12:24 AM
fast03600rr

Feedback Score: 15 reviews
i would just go with a 250. i know alot of fast guys that ride 250's and can kick my ass when i'm on my 450..

Phatstud

07 Dyna
07 Bagger

07 RMZ 250

post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 12:35 AM
Knee Dragger

I am about your same build and in your same situation of not riding dirt in a few years. I just bought a cr 250 (2-stroke) monday and love it:icon_lol:. I have rode a kx250f and a crf450x and owned a yz426. My opinion would be to get the 450. The 250f I rode seemed to be down on power for my liking and the 450 had so much all around power it was a blast to ride. I also hear of more 250's needing to be rebuilt more often because they rev higher. I also saw this first hand as the guy with the 250 blew it up after 1.5 yrs and the 450x has been going strong for almost 4yrs now.
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 11:54 AM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero