Any overclocking fanatics in here? - 600RR.net
Off Topic & Flame Thrower All non 600RR related banter goes in here...
Sponsored by: Sharp Turn Motorsports

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-06-2017, 10:43 AM Thread Starter
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Lyoha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Annapolis Area
Posts: 862
Thanks: 14
Thanked 172 Times in 151 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Any overclocking fanatics in here?

As the title suggests, looking to pick some brains here. I've been fidgeting with OCing all sorts of cpus and gpus since I started building my own PCs back in '09. But just last week I hit an issue that I never dealt with before. After a mild CPU OC, the system would be perfectly stable and cool enough under full load, but freeze when coming off full load or just hanging around idle for the first 10 minutes or so from a cold startup. After a couple of start/freeze cycles, the system is solid under all conditions so diagnosing this has been a huge pain that's costing me hours of sleep...

Been scouring the web but these failures are a few and far in between often with search results dating back almost to when I started building.

I'm purposefully leaving any specs and details about my rig out to coerce you guys into a more low level discussion.

So, what are your thoughts? I'm leaning to shoddy voltage regulation to the CPU while the system is physically "cold".
Lyoha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-06-2017, 11:59 AM
Premium Member
 
Soponcio Virtual's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Madrid - Spain
Posts: 1,641
Thanks: 137
Thanked 271 Times in 216 Posts
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I modded a couple of this... but never encountered a situation like yours... I always been in the fried CPU or stable CPU sides... never in the middle...

I suggest you run some diagnostics over heavy load of work. Specially RAM related...

And if you think it is a power issue... go with a bigger source, I guess that you extra cooling thingies + an overclocked CPU might be draining more that what's available...



Honda CBR600RR 2003 - Gone! (the blond)

Honda CBR600RR 2007 - On the road! (the brunette)
Soponcio Virtual is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Soponcio Virtual For This Useful Post:
dixon cider (02-06-2017)
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-06-2017, 01:22 PM Thread Starter
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Lyoha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Annapolis Area
Posts: 862
Thanks: 14
Thanked 172 Times in 151 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's definitely not a lack of wattage. This PSU used to run two r9 290s full blast in a mining rig a couple of years ago for a month or so. Since repurposing the PSU for the gaming/media rig, it's been running trouble free with plenty of overhead. I checked the 12/5/3.3V outs both manually and through AIDA64 etc. and they are within useful limits.

If this was a problem with not enough power, then I'd expect the system to be unstable at full load and not the other way around.

I'll run a stress test on the RAM tonight but don't expect any issues since the freezes I encounter have been after coming off a high CPU load alone or periodically just idling within a few minutes of a cold startup.
Lyoha is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-07-2017, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Lyoha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Annapolis Area
Posts: 862
Thanks: 14
Thanked 172 Times in 151 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So it looks like I got it sorted. For Anybody that might come across a similar issue with the A10 7850K, the CPU voltage is just too low if you experience stability at full load but not at idle or coming off load. It's counterintuitive since it's fine at load but it works. Going from stock clock up 450MHz didn't require any voltage increases so getting up to 500MHz I thought wouldn't need much offset. I was wrong. At least this one needed .066V offset to be fully stable along with a mild LLC curve. I'll keep pushing the boundary until I get close to the limits of my cooling setup unless the CPU hits a hard wall before then.

Edit: The RAM load tested just fine with Prime95. Maybe I'll kick up the clocks there too for sh!ts and giggles.

Last edited by Lyoha; 02-07-2017 at 07:50 PM.
Lyoha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 600RR.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome