Auctmart plastics full review - 600RR.net
Vendor Experiences The Good, the Bad and the downright Ugly

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-30-2011, 12:22 PM Thread Starter
Pocketbike Racer
 
iRideRR_09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 467
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Auctmart plastics full review

Let me start off by saying this is my review on this company and their product and in no way shape or form am I trying to bash their company, Im just being honest

I have been riding for 2 years and I love my CBR. She started off as a Phoenix until I wrecked last year
I found a great website for some OEM plastics that I purchased in RED/BLACK. After getting back on the horse I started picking the front end up more and more and starting realizing that I am loving wheelies.
After my first wreck I knew how expensive it was to replace OEM plastics and did not want to go through it again.
With this in mind I sold my OEM RED/BLACK plastics for about what I paid for them and purchased a set of AUCTMART plastics WHITE/SILVER.

Now that I am getting into wheelies more I decided I would rather wreck a set of aftermarket plastics instead of OEM, being the reason I sold mine.

I had an idea of the quality I was going to recieve becuase I do spend a lot of time on this forum and I know no matter what site or company it is they NEVER FIT CORRECTLY.

Now the review...

The Good

They were quick to respond and take my order and money.
Cheap and affordable for anyone, around ($500ish)
The paint quality was excellent, no flaws in the paint from what I could see.

The Bad

Shipping took 3 weeks.
They only accept PayPal.
They WILL NOT talk to you over the phone, email only.
I asked several times for a receipt for my purchase and never got one.
Plastics DO NOT FIT PERFECT.
Plastics WILL MELT and CRACK.

The tail piece was my biggest concern about melting but actually held up very well. The lower plastic that says "Honda" was the one that melted on the right side of the bike and also cracked.

I took pictures of everything so here they are.

No the plastic did not crack due to being OVERTIGHTENED.

These were installed by a performance shop in the local area and have been around for years.

As you can see in the 1st picture, the tabs will not hold into the tank.
I tried using a clear adhesive as you can see but it still did not hold.

The 2nd picture you can see where the lower plastic broke off the main bolt holding it in place, keep in mind these bolts were snug NOT overtightened.

The 3rd picture you can see where BOTH breaks are.
Right in front of rear tire and right side lower (See in picture 2)

The 4th and 5th picture is where you can see the melting of the plastics.
The plastics is about a 1/2 inch away from the header, you can see the paint on the header in picture 4.

Picture 5 you can see under the "A" where it started to welt up.






I am not upset about the plastics because I am expecting to lay the bike over soon now that I am getting a little more into the stunting scene.
But for someone who is looking for quality, I would not suggest them.

1-10

Customer Service 7
Product 6

2009 Cbr 600RR Phoenix
2004 Zx6R 636
iRideRR_09


iRideRR_09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-30-2011, 12:44 PM
Pocketbike Racer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 340
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is there heat shield on the fairings?


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com app
larryftmfw is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-30-2011, 01:30 PM Thread Starter
Pocketbike Racer
 
iRideRR_09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 467
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by larryftmfw View Post
Is there heat shield on the fairings?


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com app

No heat shields were included

2009 Cbr 600RR Phoenix
2004 Zx6R 636
iRideRR_09


iRideRR_09 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-30-2011, 01:33 PM
Training Wheel Hero
 
naro_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston, tx
Posts: 42
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I also bought sum eBay plastics. I knew from experience that they melt in the lower header area so I went ahead and ordered sum heat shields and I wrapped the whole inside of the fairings from the header area and the motor area and I haven't had any problems with them. But yea the fitment sucked and mine took like two months to come in!!!!! Overall bad experience


Mods:
PCV
K&N air and oil filter
Pair valve mod
Shorty Two Bros
SV racing rear sets w/ gp style shift
520 chain and sprocket
Yanashiki levers
Internatrix alarm and pager
Michellin rubbers
Lowered front and rear
Ebc HH pads
6k HIDs
Integrated tail
Flush mounts
Mirror deletes
Cowl seat
Brand spanking new fairings!!!
naro_01 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-30-2011, 01:38 PM Thread Starter
Pocketbike Racer
 
iRideRR_09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 467
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by naro_01 View Post
I also bought sum eBay plastics. I knew from experience that they melt in the lower header area so I went ahead and ordered sum heat shields and I wrapped the whole inside of the fairings from the header area and the motor area and I haven't had any problems with them. But yea the fitment sucked and mine took like two months to come in!!!!! Overall bad experience
Agreed, but they advertise on their site that they will not melt and have high heat resistant.

2009 Cbr 600RR Phoenix
2004 Zx6R 636
iRideRR_09


iRideRR_09 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-15-2011, 12:31 AM
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
.

Nice review, I am looking to buy fairings for my bike too (wrecked). Auctmarts.com is on the list of companies I am looking at.. They seem to be getting better reviews then most of the other companies, sort of the "best of the worst" scenario.. It seems that no matter who you buy from the plastics are all the same, cheap, don't fit too well, and might crack and melt.. although from what I have read mostly if you use heat shields or heat tape the melting can be avoided.. Although even with all the crappy attributes you won't get a full set of fairings for less. So really to me it all comes down to is who has the best customer service and who can deliver on time.. ( as some people didn't get their kits for months.. or NOT at all).. for me I am okay with the cheapness. cheap fairings are better then no fairings..especially if they will be getting damaged anyways..again appreciate the unbiased review!
JohnRR is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-15-2011, 12:43 AM
infinate719
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I used heat shielding too that I purchased off Ebay. So far they have not melted but they do chip from rocks VERY VERY easy. The pain was pretty good and the fitment was even better on my 2003 but for long term....They are not a good investment.
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-15-2011, 08:41 PM
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
heat

Quote:
Originally Posted by infinate719 View Post
I used heat shielding too that I purchased off Ebay. So far they have not melted but they do chip from rocks VERY VERY easy. The pain was pretty good and the fitment was even better on my 2003 but for long term....They are not a good investment.
It seems that a little handy work with heat shielding has been successful in majority of cases. I definitely will be using some when/if I decide to get some fairings.. thanks for the insight!
JohnRR is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-15-2011, 08:45 PM
World Superbike Racer
 
Coondawg_07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Athens, Al
Posts: 2,346
Thanks: 34
Thanked 74 Times in 64 Posts
Garage
Feedback Score: 15 reviews
Their advertisement on this site said that heat shielding was included. When I got my fairings and that was not the case, I emailed them. They refunded me $20 to go to Advance Auto and buy some. ------------ +1 for Customer Service

I broke 2 tabs off trying to adjust, tweak , reinstall when fixing all the small issues several days later. ------------- -1 for Product

I am overall satisfied for the price that I paid! I still want some OEM though.

-Coons
RIP PHATTY
05/08/1980-10/19/2010


http://www.facebook.com/cCoons

Coondawg_07 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 07:43 PM Thread Starter
Pocketbike Racer
 
iRideRR_09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 467
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Bottom line you get what you pay for.

2009 Cbr 600RR Phoenix
2004 Zx6R 636
iRideRR_09


iRideRR_09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 600RR.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome