Proper way to shift??? - 600RR.net
Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 09:18 PM Thread Starter
AMA Supersport Racer

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Proper way to shift???

Hey guys im new to bikes and I had a question about shifting and down shifting.

1. whats the proper way of shifting up?? do u let go of the gas completely, a lil bit or what? I know the basics but it just feels like im not doing it correctly. Same thing when it comes to downshifting.

my other question is when u guys r crusing on 35 or 45 mph zones what gear ru guys in?? Ne info will be helpful. thanx guys. sorry about these noob questions but i just dont want to fudge my clutch or my bike period.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 10:10 PM
Knightslugger

Quote:
Originally Posted by bangbang View Post
1. whats the proper way of shifting up?? do u let go of the gas completely, a lil bit or what? I know the basics but it just feels like im not doing it correctly. Same thing when it comes to downshifting.
For upshifting:

On the track, the only time i use the clutch is from N to 1. otherwise it's all clutchless. i roll off the throttle rather quickly, it doesn't go to 0%, but it's a feel thing. the idea is to get the transmission to zero load. sometimes i whack the throttle... depends. Anyway, when i get to that point, i pull up and it just clicks right into gear and i'm on the gas again.

On the street, it's the same thing, only a LOT lazier and i use the clutch because of it. but i STILL roll off the throttle ever so slightly. the RPMs never climb when i pull the clutch, and that's what you're after.

For Downshifting:

On the track, it's a Throttle whack/clutch jab/tap down/feathered release gaggle of action. all of it is done in pretty rapid succession, less than a 2/5 a second total every time i go through a gear.