Please help me identify these 2 problems - 600RR.net
Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-29-2008, 04:47 PM Thread Starter

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Please help me identify these 2 problems

Hello everyone. I am new to the bike scene and bought a used '05 600RR and have a couple different issues now that I discovered. Well first thing...while I was cleaning the bike I found this stray wire that looked pretty chewed up by something, tucked behind the tranny case. Can anyone please tell me what this is? The bike does have a fender eliminator kit on it, NO license plate lights, no rear turn signals (only the signals in the tail light). So here's the first pic.

Second thing... after I changed my oil using Shell Rotella, and a Mobile 1 oil filter the bike ran fine, no MIL (oil light), but as soon as I got on the bike pretty hard the oil light has been staying on. The FI is not lit, and there are no blink patterns for the oil light. The light is not consistant either. It will go on and off and random times, flickering sometimes, sometimes staying off then 80% of the time its on solid. What i did discover was that when i wiggle this thing around, I can make the light go on and off. So is it a connection somewhere near the throttle body, or could it be that after I rode the bike a wire came loose maybe touching a ground? Who knows, but here's what im talking about.

Is this knob to control the idle? Cause it changed it when i turned it (hopefully its safe to twist it). The bike runs fine with or without the light on, its just not a normal light to be on so its bugging the hell out of me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-29-2008, 07:42 PM
Demented

I'm just taking a shot in the dark here, but maybe the chewed up wires are the oil sensor wires, which would explain the oil light being on.