coolant leak... - 600RR.net
Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-22-2010, 01:32 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation coolant leak...

Right, let me start off by saying this is the first time ive posted on the sight and am a noob here.

i went to start my rr5 last week and noticed it is leaking coolant from somewhere under the tank. i stripped the side fairing off and its not the rad or water pump thats leaking or any hoses visible from taking the side fairings off. it was fine when i put her away the beginning of dec, but since then temperature here dropped to like -15. i got a proper 50/50 mix of coolant, (brought silkolene which coves pre mixed) which is effective to -34. could this be a problem with the thermostat/casing, the head gasket or a pipe that i jus cant see? i am yet to lift the tank to get under but would appreciate it if anyone has had a similar problem so i know were to look or if ive missed a probable cause for the leak. also last week i ran the bike upto temp,after refilling the coolant, and i couldnt see any leaks. i just went back to the bike to start her up and try and see if i can see the leak again, but when i checked the coolant bottle, it was totally empty... no puddle on the floor nothing.

i feel i am being completely thick and missing something obvious and would like some oppinions or advice before i spend time lifting the tank to check because its way to cold to be arsin about but really want to find the problem so i can get parts ordered ready.

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-22-2010, 02:08 PM
Pocketbike Racer