bike Sounds Rough... new to me - 600RR.net
Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-31-2010, 04:32 AM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
bike Sounds Rough... new to me

Hey guys. I have been riding now for almost 5 years... I have ridden and owned many bikes over the years and fancy the CBR 600rr the most. Hence why i had an 06, 05 and now an 03. My bike was running fine. I recently did an oil change with filter and spark plug change. Bike ran fine after doing these things. About 4 days after, with an almost full tank of gas, the bike started trying to shut off in the middle of riding. It kept doing this until today when come to find out it was a pinched line. I stopped off on the side of the road and fixed it. I continued riding and went roughly 20 miles, then it all of a sudden went from idling at 1400rpms down to 1000rpms and sounding like a lawn mower engine... Any idea what this could be? I have been working on motorcycles for a while but never encountered this problem. I fear it's a cylinder problem. I stopped the bike and let it rest for about 30 minutes and then started it up and rode it in first gear for a minute and as soon as I started it up, it sounded like the lawn mower engine again. If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated... Completely stock bike other than fender eliminator kit. No modifications at all....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-31-2010, 09:05 AM
Moto GP Racer

Feedback Score: 14 reviews
check your idle adjuster and raise the idle back to 1500. My guess is maybe you touched it with your foot by mistake. My friends idle was out of range on his 05rr and it did sound like that lawn mower you mentioned.

Black 2006 600rr l SOLD Dec 2010
07 600rr - sold Aug 2011
07 white/silver 600rr - sold
Current: 2015 1000rr
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-31-2010, 10:43 AM