1st Day Disaster! - 600RR.net
Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-29-2012, 12:19 AM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs down 1st Day Disaster!

So I am new to riding and finally bought me a "real" bike lol (95 cbr 600). I don't know anything mechanical wise I basically just know how to drive one. So I test drive it for a sec and it rode fine. It was 1.5 hrs away from home so I planned to ride it there. Well I went to the gas station and noticed it was saying it was running very hot and after I got gas it wouldn't start. I call the guy back and he comes and jumps it and I ask him about the temp gauge and he says it doesn't work. I start heading home and then stopped at the gas station about 45 mins later and its smoking so I turn it right off. There was not a drop of oil in it so we add it and I added coolant as well. It must have been bone dry too but I kept pouring until it was to the top of the neck (oops!) I had to push start it then I take off once again and I notice coolant running out underneath the cap and then I fwel fluid hit my foot and I pull over immediately. It was still running fine until i cut it off. I ended up towing it home. I had someone take a look and I blew 2 radiator hoses and not sure what else. Is it due to overfilling with coolant? Do u think its a major repair or not? I checked oil and it was very low but I only added a qt so it wasn't much in there anyways (not good I know). Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-29-2012, 12:20 AM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero

BTW after adding coolant it was no longer running hot....liar
post #3 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-29-2012, 12:21 AM
AMA Supersport Racer

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Here's my personal suggestion, and it may be overkill.