06 600rr stalled while driving, red oil light - 600RR.net
Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-21-2012, 09:17 AM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
06 600rr stalled while driving, red oil light

Hi guys,

I've been riding for about 3 months now and starting yesterday i noticed something odd. When in neutral and parking the bike, the engine almost felt like it wanted to die, it would sit at 1500, go to 2000 rpm, then back to 1000, and keep on doing that, a drop for 2k - 1k just doesnt feel good. Starting it back up and driving to work after i parked it (i went to lunch), it felt fine, until i was driving to the garage in 3rd gear going about 30 mph, and the bike stuttered again, this time it felt like the bike jerked forward, even though my throttle hand never moved, it did this about 3-4 times until i parked.

Started the bike today, it was about 55 degrees F, let it idle for a good minute or two, started driving to work, and about 1 mile from work i notice the bike doing a very slight stutter again, this time im in 4th gear, it stutters somewhat hard and the red light above the oil lamp comes on, i clutch in because that was my natural reaction, and i lose all power, the bike had stalled. I started it up while i was coasting and drove it to work, it felt alright, no major stuttering or jerking of throttle, i kept it below 5k rpm the whole time after that and drove slowly.

After parking i checked the oil (incorrectly), and when the bike was on the stand i dont think i saw any oil in the glass oil level housing thing, i have yet to tilt the bike upright and check, but i would assume i would see some oil while its on the stand. Any ideas as to what could be wrong?

If im posting in the wrong section please let me know, i will ask a mod to move my thread, I appreciate all your help, thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement