Trouble Starting 05 cbr600rr - 600RR.net
Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-23-2014, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Trouble Starting 05 cbr600rr

Hello, I have read a few threads but can't pinpoint the best place to start troubleshooting.

Bike won't start. Sat in garage for 4-6 months over winter. Added a small amount of seafoam to gas.

When key is in on position headlights do not come on. When kill switch is turned to run position, do not hear fuel pump priming. Battery fully charged and I believe to be good.

After trying to start for an hour, bike started once, ran for 10-15 min, geared up to ride and just before putting into 1st to take off, I turned high beam on which killed bike instantly.

Does this sound like a short? Bad relay or fuses? Rectifier?

Desperately need help. I have limited knowledge on bike mechanics but am good at figuring things out.

Thanks!

gauge lights turn on
fuses ok
battery fully charged with 12V charger
tail light works, horn works
switched fan relay with fuel pump relay, nothing

Last edited by Mighty84; 03-23-2014 at 06:40 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-23-2014, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero

*when fuel pump is in run position do not hear fuel pump priming
Fuses ok
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-23-2014, 06:07 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero

Gage lights turn on, on dash.
Guess I'll mess with relays next.

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-25-2014, 03:58 PM
AMA Supersport Racer

Garage
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Your high beam headlight wire could be shorted out against the frame or something similar. Check for shorts in the wiring harness, and near/underneath the gas tank.

Love my 03 600RR

Build Thread:
https://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=394793

Black And Gold!