New Front Tire : Handling = Terrible - 600RR.net
Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-06-2014, 05:52 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New Front Tire : Handling = Terrible

Hey guys, tried using the search function and google to no avail.

11k miles, 2005 CBR600rr, all OEM except custom paint job from last owner.

So last weekend I had the bike inspected knowing the front tire would fail, put a new tire on, passed inspection, hooray!

Now I've been riding for about 7 years and this is my third motorcycle, this isn't my first time having tires replaced.

I go to leave the shop, ride for about 1/8 miles and I'm like JESUS F-ing CHRIST.

It's like I took my bike onto an ice rink. I can literally turn the handle bars with my finger when the bike is on it's kickstand and it takes barely any effort to go around a corner, but in a dangerous way, like I'm going to lose it.

It's almost like before they installed the tire, they soaked it in a bucket of 0W-20 motor oil.

Pulled over immediately, checked that everything was tight (seriously happened to have a socket set in my book bag)

Everything checked out, I call the shop, the owner says he's not sure what I'm talking about, he said with the new front tire handling was going to be much more responsive.

I'm going to be late for work so F-it, let's get this thing home it's 4 miles away.

Start googling, articles coming up about people dumping bikes immediately after getting tires changed, due to being slippery from the factory, suggesting that I "scrub" them in.

I have never heard of scrubbing in my life, and this is probably my 5th new front tire. It stated if I do not want to scrub them in, I can ride about 40-50 miles and whatever coating is on the tire will wear off.