In need of a second opinion about the brakes.. - 600RR.net
Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-09-2014, 10:25 AM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
In need of a second opinion about the brakes..

Well,

The bike in question is a EU 2005 600RR.

During the last trackday on the Assen TT circuit, I've had the feeling the brake were about to give up on me a few times. I even went onto the runnoff after the second straight. All because I felt the bike wasn't going to stop.

I could squeeze, but it felt like the pads had no friction whatsoever on the rotors.

back home, I put the bike on stands and rotated the front wheel.


In my opinion threequarters of a rotation isn't much...

After that I pulled the pads out.
As you can see, the pads have some blue glazing & rotor marks on them..

And from the side you can see they have some minute warping


Its is the same on both sides.

The pads are EBC HH

I personally think the seals in the calipers need to be replaced because to me it looks like the pads don't free themselves from the rotor.

But what do you guys thinks?
WallyPower is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-09-2014, 10:33 AM
Moto GP Racer
 
TheX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 14,340
Images: 2
Thanks: 129
Thanked 2,463 Times in 1,718 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
The piston seals are easy to change, and cheap. The EBC pads are fine for the street and mid level trackdays. You can also clean the pistons to see if they will be freed up.
TheX is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-09-2014, 04:07 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well, I pulled the calipers apart and there was a considerable amount of caked on black gunk everwhere. Got everything cleaned up with brake cleaner and they look like new. Now waiting for new seals and washers..
WallyPower is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-09-2014, 07:41 PM
Moto GP Racer
 
FightingChance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,043
Thanks: 0
Thanked 700 Times in 601 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Also inspect the pad pins - they can pit and slow pad release. I've coated mine with a tiny bit of ceramic brake grease.
FightingChance is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 600RR.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome