Skip in 2nd gear at 9k at WOT - 600RR.net
Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2015, 10:19 AM Thread Starter
Knee Dragger

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Skip in 2nd gear at 9k at WOT

So I'm experiencing a problem and I need help diagnosing it. It started about a month ago after I installed a pc3 and put in thicker oil for the summer time, I went from 10w-40 to 20w-50. It only happens in 2nd gear between 9k-11.5k and only if I'm WOT. If it's anything less throttle wise then it doesn't do it and it doesn't do it every time. Now what I'm experiencing is a skip or jump. The best way I can describe it is like if your chain skips a tooth on your sprocket. It doesn't bog, shut down, but the rpms jump 500-1k rpm and then return back down when it engages or catches whatever it does after it skips. I'm a mechanic at a shop and my boss doesn't think it's the transmission but something tells me it is. It's not the pc3 cause I took it out and it still happened. I have fellow friends who are knowledgeable about bikes telling me it could be my tps, a sensor or transmission. My boss thinks it could be a cam sensor or something electrical. What do you guys think? My bike has 44,700 miles on it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2015, 11:01 AM
Moto GP Racer

Thanked 2,463 Times in 1,718 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Clutch?

10 char
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2015, 11:27 AM Thread Starter
Knee Dragger

But if it was the clutch wouldn't it do it in every gear? Not just in 2nd gear, right?

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2015, 11:44 AM
Moto GP Racer

Thanked 2,463 Times in 1,718 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by cb750mike View Post
But if it was the clutch wouldn't it do it in every gear? Not just in 2nd gear, right?