20amp fuse by battery keeps blowing, BAS blows it when by passed - 600RR.net
Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 05:02 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
20amp fuse by battery keeps blowing, BAS blows it when by passed

Ok I have a 2005 Honda cbr 600rr. I have checked all relays , cut wire harness completely open , taped repaired any possible short. Run switch works, I have a service repair manual(2003 version) but there is not one for the 05 06 I can find. Bc there are differences in the electrical system between 03 04 and 05 06. When i by pass the BAS by jumping the red and green wire together fuse blows when I turn on kill switch to run. When I leave open fuse is fine. Any help is appreciated. I am an electrician by trade and descent mechanic. Only thing I can think of is ECM is bad. I’m assuming my problem is right there but I know there are several components on this circuit. Thank u for any advice. Brand new battery. This all started when I did a wheelie came down hard and lights blinked. 20 miles later bike electrical fails. Well I pull over battery was warped it was soo hot. But fuse wasn’t blown then. Bike wouldn’t turn over and relays buzzed. R/r is on the way. But I unhook the r/r and fuse still blows.
The Following User Says Thank You to Smoothop87 For This Useful Post:
tary preisser (05-12-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 08:42 PM
BOTY 2014 Winner

Thanked 1,047 Times in 853 Posts
Garage
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
the fuse by the battery is the EFI fuse. it runs the entire FI system (fuel pump, ecu, fuel injectors, spark plugs, the whole bit)

the engine stop relay powers up this circuit