2004 600RR won't start... very bizarre... - 600RR.net
Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-03-2008, 01:20 AM Thread Starter
AMA Supersport Racer

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
2004 600RR won't start... very bizarre...

Hello all, first post!
I just want to warn you all ahead of time that I'm a complete noob when it comes to mechanical issues and bikes in general, so please forgive my ignorance.

I just about a month ago bought a 2004 CBR600RR with just under 6000 miles on it, absolutely no mods whatsoever besides a fender eliminator. When I picked it up, it started up just fine. I rode it up and down the street in front of the guy's house and it ran like a charm. We loaded it up on my dad's truck and I drove it home. When I got it off the truck, I started it up just to show my friends and it started up just fine. Fast forward to the next morning. At this point I think I should mention that the temperature got into the teens that night and couldn't have been more than upper twenties at this point. I tried to start it up, and nothing. NOTHING. It turned over, but it just wouldn't start. I had some things to do that morning, so I put it in my shed and decided to give it a try later.

I came back a couple hours later for another go, and same deal. I looked in the manual at that point and read about the engine possibly being flooded with fuel. I tried the procedure described in the manual to clear out the engine, but still nothing, and on top of that, my battery was dying. So I ordered a charger.

Fast forward to the charger getting here. I pretty much ran down the battery again trying to get the thing started, but still nothing. I'm at a loss, really. I have a couple of theories as to what may be going on, but like I said, I'm not really mechanically inclined, so I don't know which sounds the most likely.

Theory #1
----------