"The Happening" - 600RR.net
Movie / Music Reviews Got a great movie / CD you just saw/heard and want to let others know aobut it, post your comments here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-14-2008, 12:26 PM Thread Starter
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Reynoldsburg, OH
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs down "The Happening"

Horrible.

I definitely regret actually paying $17 for two people to see this. It had the potential to be good but it just wasn't. I don't want to spoil it with details for anyone that actually wants to go see it but don't waste your money.
:monkey_po

Anyone else seen it?
justin0469 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-14-2008, 12:31 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
efinit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,422
Images: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
+1

Mark Wahlberg had probably his worst acting job, yet. The movie definitely is a wait-for-dvd, maybe even a wait-for-national-tv-premier.

Although, i do find myself talking to plants, now. :)

SOLD: '05 Slv/Blk 600RR
R.I.P. Mama a.k.a. Pansabelly
(03/20/98 - 10/21/05)
My Angel in Heaven


"whatever wrong goes on in your life , forces you to be at your best ... remember that"---thingamajiggs
efinit is offline  
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-14-2008, 12:48 PM
Knee Dragger
 
$yndicate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Ok so what was worse, this or cloverfield?

03' CBR 600RR Red/Black Custom
SportTech V-Flow Black Chrome Windscreen
Red OEM Honda Rear Cowl
LSL Frame Sliders
LP swingarm Spools
Watsens LED Front Blinkers
Rear Tire Hugger
Tripage Rear Pegs Powdercoated Black 24 LEDS
GPR 8 click pinless stabilizer
$yndicate is offline  
 
post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-14-2008, 12:53 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
+2 if i wasnt with friends i would've got up and left after the first 15 mins of it. dont waste your money
boomer_rich is offline  
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-14-2008, 02:12 PM
Moto GP Racer
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 5,488
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 25 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by $yndicate View Post
Ok so what was worse, this or cloverfield?
i'm going to see it tonight and i don't think cloverfield was bad. they just really need to get away from the personal camera view the entire movie. then it would have been much better.

getting back in the game.
Slyder is offline  
post #6 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-14-2008, 07:32 PM Thread Starter
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Reynoldsburg, OH
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I haven't seen Cloverfield to rate it against that. I have seen worse movies though. I would say it's a "wait for TV" movie just so you can get past wondering how bad it is. I wouldn't buy it.
justin0469 is offline  
post #7 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-15-2008, 12:21 AM
Moto GP Racer
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 5,488
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 25 reviews
You must not be a fan of the M Night becuz the movie wasn't bad at all. I'l give u the part about Wahlbergs acting. It defintely wasn't his best but i don't know if that was him or if was the part but if u've liked the rest of M Knight's movie you'll like The Happening. it was good.

getting back in the game.
Slyder is offline  
post #8 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-16-2008, 02:39 PM Thread Starter
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Reynoldsburg, OH
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I liked Sixth Sense....
justin0469 is offline  
post #9 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-16-2008, 02:44 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
CommandoRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,477
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
i thought clovefield was pretty decent

Quote:
Originally Posted by DougsMom View Post
Marvin! Where the hell is our son!
https://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=111004
CommandoRR is offline  
post #10 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-17-2008, 10:23 AM Thread Starter
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Reynoldsburg, OH
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ya, I actually just watched Cloverfield last night. The movie isn't bad at all, just the ending.
justin0469 is offline  
post #11 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-17-2008, 10:24 AM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit (Downriver)
Posts: 595
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
dang it, I wanted to see this...
0hFouRR600 is offline  
post #12 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-19-2008, 09:53 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
CiBeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 1,413
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What a pile of crap this movie is :icon_oak: . M. Knight Shamalan is a narcissistic douche bag. In an interview before the movie came out he said that he was worried that it would be over peoples head and they wouldn't like it. He knew what a pile of crap it was so, basically, he's calling anyone who doesn't like the movie an idiot. Don't take my word for it, check out the independent and critics reviews on this piece of shizz. If it didn't take riding time away from me I'd file a class action law suit against that **** head. Now I'm mad that he took another 5 minutes from me to post this in addition to the 2 hours for the movie. Fvck M. Knight Shamalan.

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/10007985-happening/

CiBeR is offline  
post #13 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-19-2008, 10:07 PM
Moto GP Racer
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 5,488
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 25 reviews
yeah because critics know everything about movies. Critics have THE worst opinion ever. They give good movies crap reviews and shitty movies good reviews... anyone who goes by what a critic says is an idiot plain and simple.

but to respond to your post... everybody is different.

getting back in the game.
Slyder is offline  
post #14 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-19-2008, 10:15 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
NraGed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Shores of Lake Erie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,348
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slyder View Post
yeah because critics know everything about movies. Critics have THE worst opinion ever. They give good movies crap reviews and shitty movies good reviews... anyone who goes by what a critic says is an idiot plain and simple.

TOTALLY AGREE!!!

2005 600RR - SOLD
2007 600RR - SOLD

NraGed is offline  
post #15 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-19-2008, 10:31 PM
Moto GP Racer
 
TribalCBR06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central FL
Posts: 10,419
Images: 13
Thanks: 253
Thanked 178 Times in 165 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I heard 'The Happening' wasn't as good as its supposed to be. I'm definitely skipping this one. I thought Cloverfield was pretty good except for the personal-camera approach (which made me dizzy at some points)

* * 600RR Ex-Track Junkie * *
Current bike - Yamaha Liquid Silver R1


- Competition Breeds Excellence -
TribalCBR06 is offline  
post #16 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-19-2008, 10:33 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: albuquerque, NM
Posts: 960
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Yep the movie sucked..

Incredible hulk was good.
iron man was good.
sex and the city was too long way too long.
indiana jones isnt a must see but was ok.
kung fu panda was funny all around good.
the zohan movie was good funny as hell must see.
I think i have seen about every movie out right now lol.

Need parts for 08.. Headlights, subframe, front brake reservoir, all fairings, Complete set of clip-ons with all electrical. email or PM me if you have any of these for sale thanks.

email= [email protected]

Official 600rr.net Squid Member #1
PaNe is offline  
post #17 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-19-2008, 10:42 PM
Moto GP Racer
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 5,488
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 25 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaNe View Post
Yep the movie sucked..

Incredible hulk was good.
iron man was good.
sex and the city was too long way too long.
indiana jones isnt a must see but was ok.
kung fu panda was funny all around good.
the zohan movie was good funny as hell must see.
I think i have seen about every movie out right now lol.
ok the only 2 i haven't seen was sex in the city.. and don't plan too and panda but i heard it was good.... however...

you think The Happening sucked but the zohan was a must see... ur on crack dude. I'm a huge Sandler fan and there were a few really funny parts but this movie was by far the worst move sandler has done. it was just plain horrible!

getting back in the game.
Slyder is offline  
post #18 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-20-2008, 12:21 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
CiBeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 1,413
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slyder View Post
yeah because critics know everything about movies. Critics have THE worst opinion ever. They give good movies crap reviews and shitty movies good reviews... anyone who goes by what a critic says is an idiot plain and simple.

but to respond to your post... everybody is different.

No Shizz Sherlock, hope you didn't strain yourself to come up with that one. That's why I said "independent and critics reviews" if you check out the link I put it has both. Yes, everybody is different, but you can't ignore the majority on this one. If you like the movie good for you, hey, even Buell sells bikes to someone to stay in business.

CiBeR is offline  
post #19 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-20-2008, 12:51 PM
#2 Office Monkey!!
 
Braincrater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 757
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slyder View Post
ok the only 2 i haven't seen was sex in the city.. and don't plan too and panda but i heard it was good.... however...

you think The Happening sucked but the zohan was a must see... ur on crack dude. I'm a huge Sandler fan and there were a few really funny parts but this movie was by far the worst move sandler has done. it was just plain horrible!
+1... there were some funny parts but it cant go down as a classic like Billy Madison or Happy Gilmore.. not even close to those.



Braincrater is offline  
post #20 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-20-2008, 06:32 PM
Moto GP Racer
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 5,488
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 25 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CiBeR600 View Post
No Shizz Sherlock, hope you didn't strain yourself to come up with that one. That's why I said "independent and critics reviews" if you check out the link I put it has both. Yes, everybody is different, but you can't ignore the majority on this one. If you like the movie good for you, hey, even Buell sells bikes to someone to stay in business.
so "zohan" being the buell means you'd be the buyer. Maybe you took that to the a$$ which wasn't the intention. I wasn't call you an idiot so chill out. and besides who is the majority? did u take a poll of everyone who saw or ... is majority the critics ...

getting back in the game.
Slyder is offline  
post #21 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-20-2008, 07:02 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
CiBeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 1,413
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Haven't seen Zohan and don't plan to, Sandler movies are best as rentals. He comes out with some good stuff, but it's hit and miss with that cat. The majority is the regular Joe schmoe like you and me, that's why I check out rottentomatos.com. I agree that critics for the most part have their head up their ass, for example, Roger Ebert gave the happening a 4 out of 5 . No worries mate, my A$$ is intact, it's like a steel fortress. Something about this piece of sh!t movie makes me want to punch everything in sight.

:monkey_po:monkey_po:monkey_po:monkey_po
FVCK the happening:icon_hang

CiBeR is offline  
post #22 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-20-2008, 07:04 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Well was going to go and see this today but because of this thread we went and seen Get Smart. Good movie.
fwb600rr is offline  
post #23 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-20-2008, 07:48 PM
Moto GP Racer
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 5,488
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 25 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CiBeR600 View Post
Haven't seen Zohan and don't plan to, Sandler movies are best as rentals. He comes out with some good stuff, but it's hit and miss with that cat. The majority is the regular Joe schmoe like you and me, that's why I check out rottentomatos.com. I agree that critics for the most part have their head up their ass, for example, Roger Ebert gave the happening a 4 out of 5 . No worries mate, my A$$ is intact, it's like a steel fortress. Something about this piece of sh!t movie makes me want to punch everything in sight.

:monkey_po:monkey_po:monkey_po:monkey_po
FVCK the happening:icon_hang

lol then we can agree to disagree. I've definitely seen worse movies tho for sure.... the worst movie ever created... History of Violence!

getting back in the game.
Slyder is offline  
post #24 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-26-2008, 09:46 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
SeanO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Leesville, LA
Posts: 1,194
Images: 2
Thanks: 8
Thanked 63 Times in 51 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slyder View Post
yeah because critics know everything about movies. Critics have THE worst opinion ever. They give good movies crap reviews and shitty movies good reviews... anyone who goes by what a critic says is an idiot plain and simple.

but to respond to your post... everybody is different.

I second that, I read some of the reviews that they give I just think to myself, "man they think way to much into it." Critics should be everyday people not college grads with master degrees in Film and TV.

White 07 CBR600rr
SeanO is offline  
post #25 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-28-2008, 01:40 PM
Moto GP Racer
 
MXRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,216
Thanks: 70
Thanked 144 Times in 91 Posts
Feedback Score: 17 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slyder View Post
lol then we can agree to disagree. I've definitely seen worse movies tho for sure.... the worst movie ever created... History of Violence!
i thought history of violence was pretty good, not great, but not the worst ever.

the happening was ok at best, not worth paying for IMO, there were some pretty creative suicides tho.
i havent seen cloverfield yet.

im just waiting to see the dark knight, i loved batman begins and think Bale does an amazing job.
Batman is supposed to be a dark character and he pulls it off well (especially if u have seen American Psycho)


Wall-e looks good too.
MXRider is offline  
post #26 of 27 (permalink) Old 07-02-2008, 08:46 PM
Moto GP Racer
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 5,488
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 25 reviews
History of Violence had the potential. But sex scene on the steps was just retarded. I pretty much at least like all movies. This was the ONE movie i really almost walked out on but had nothing else to do so i just stayed but it was not good.

Get Smart was really good. I heard Wall-E is good, i wanna see it that and Kung Fu Panda! and then of course The Dark Knight... only thing i didn't like about the beginnings was the part he was running thru the asylum... he looked like a retard kid at a track meet. everything else was great tho.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MXRider View Post
i thought history of violence was pretty good, not great, but not the worst ever.

the happening was ok at best, not worth paying for IMO, there were some pretty creative suicides tho.
i havent seen cloverfield yet.

im just waiting to see the dark knight, i loved batman begins and think Bale does an amazing job.
Batman is supposed to be a dark character and he pulls it off well (especially if u have seen American Psycho)


Wall-e looks good too.

getting back in the game.
Slyder is offline  
post #27 of 27 (permalink) Old 07-23-2008, 02:06 AM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
efinit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,422
Images: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Slyder, I think you're right about Wahlberg's performance - it was the role more so than his acting.

As far as Zohan being Sandler's worst movie, I would disagree and throw punch drunk love in that mix.

SOLD: '05 Slv/Blk 600RR
R.I.P. Mama a.k.a. Pansabelly
(03/20/98 - 10/21/05)
My Angel in Heaven


"whatever wrong goes on in your life , forces you to be at your best ... remember that"---thingamajiggs
efinit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 600RR.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome