The Hunger Games - 600RR.net
Movie / Music Reviews Got a great movie / CD you just saw/heard and want to let others know aobut it, post your comments here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 10:24 PM Thread Starter
World Superbike Racer
 
ctekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,075
Thanks: 80
Thanked 105 Times in 78 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The Hunger Games

Anyone else seeing/seen this tonight? I thought the input for 21 Jump St. was spot on.

Critics didn't say a lot about this movie, though viewers gave it a pretty good rating of 83%

http://www.moviefone.com/movie/the-h...d=mfm_user_pop


Currently own:
09' 600RR | Jade (ASV Shorties / Jardine RT-One)
96' 900RR | Jessica Alba (Wiseco/Erion/D&D/RaceTech/too many to list)

MSF Basic Rider Course Locations - http://nm.msf-usa.org/msf/ridercourses.aspx?
Houston Press News - http://www.houstonpress.com/2005-10-...speed-racers/1
Wind Chill Calculator - http://www.ridemyown.com/windchill.shtml
A* Ridge Waterproof Riding Boots Review - https://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=204100
ctekguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 10:36 PM
Knee Dragger
 
fraschusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 167
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Anyone?? Come on someone must have seen it by now...I definitely wanna see it but are still immobilized for a couple more weeks....
fraschusa is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 10:38 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Raziel41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 520
Thanks: 14
Thanked 28 Times in 27 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
All the news shows have been covering the release and every shot has been lines full of teenage girls...that probably sums it up
Raziel41 is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 11:03 PM
Knee Dragger
 
fraschusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 167
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
so you calling me a girl- that's a first LOL
fraschusa is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 11:07 PM Thread Starter
World Superbike Racer
 
ctekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,075
Thanks: 80
Thanked 105 Times in 78 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
^lol

Ya, we are headed out to see it tonight in a few. I'll let ya know after, was just hoping someone could say if it was as good as reviewer's say as it did better viewer wise than 21 Jump St. Though I didn't figure in the teeny boppers/twilights going to see it too..lol

Currently own:
09' 600RR | Jade (ASV Shorties / Jardine RT-One)
96' 900RR | Jessica Alba (Wiseco/Erion/D&D/RaceTech/too many to list)

MSF Basic Rider Course Locations - http://nm.msf-usa.org/msf/ridercourses.aspx?
Houston Press News - http://www.houstonpress.com/2005-10-...speed-racers/1
Wind Chill Calculator - http://www.ridemyown.com/windchill.shtml
A* Ridge Waterproof Riding Boots Review - https://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=204100
ctekguy is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 11:32 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Raziel41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 520
Thanks: 14
Thanked 28 Times in 27 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by fraschusa View Post
so you calling me a girl- that's a first LOL
Haha, well....I'm just telling ya what I saw on TV


Sent from my Motorcycle iPad app
Raziel41 is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 11:37 PM
Moto GP Racer
 
CepheiA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: RUSerious?602
Posts: 3,932
Thanks: 29
Thanked 525 Times in 382 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews




But really though, an 86% on RT is code for: Go see this movie.

2006 HONDA CBR600RR: SOLD JUN'13

FLUTTERSHY
600rr.net Crash Stats: Will You Crash?

CepheiA is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-24-2012, 01:47 AM Thread Starter
World Superbike Racer
 
ctekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,075
Thanks: 80
Thanked 105 Times in 78 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Good thing we stopped at the Yard House for drinks before we games. In line right now..lol 15min before seating. : )

Currently own:
09' 600RR | Jade (ASV Shorties / Jardine RT-One)
96' 900RR | Jessica Alba (Wiseco/Erion/D&D/RaceTech/too many to list)

MSF Basic Rider Course Locations - http://nm.msf-usa.org/msf/ridercourses.aspx?
Houston Press News - http://www.houstonpress.com/2005-10-...speed-racers/1
Wind Chill Calculator - http://www.ridemyown.com/windchill.shtml
A* Ridge Waterproof Riding Boots Review - https://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=204100
ctekguy is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-24-2012, 02:04 AM
Pocketbike Racer
 
motorhead87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 295
Thanks: 7
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CepheiA View Post




But really though, an 86% on RT is code for: Go see this movie.
Rofl


Sent from my SPH-D710 using Motorcycle.com App
motorhead87 is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-24-2012, 07:41 AM
Knee Dragger
 
fraschusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 167
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
and.....how was it....sure sounds like it was a mob.....
fraschusa is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-24-2012, 11:36 AM Thread Starter
World Superbike Racer
 
ctekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,075
Thanks: 80
Thanked 105 Times in 78 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
It was definitely good, though not what I was expecting. I would say it is a mix between the movies: The Running Man, City of Ember and Lord of the Flies.

It really did earn it's PG-13 status. I was not expecting seeing adult violence with children of various ages. Wife felt there was going to be more violence. (crazy chick!) Hind sight, I started thinking the same after we left the theater.

Didn't expect to see what I saw. I've never read the books, though from the trailers..it really didn't show a lot about the movie. It definitely left me with questions, which I suppose is good and will make me continue with the series.

You can feel the tension rising in the film and you know there is going be an uproar coming.

Thus far, it is a story about power and control. We enjoyed it and are glad we checked it out.

Yes, there were the twilight crowd cheering during the trailers for Breaking Dawn Part 2..lol and screaming out "Don't leave me Jack..JACK!!!" during the Titanic 3D trailer. Cute and entertaining in itself..lol It was late and there were probably only about 10 of them total.

*I would not take my 12yr old or younger to see it, though my 13+ of age would appreciate the qualities of the movie for sure.

Currently own:
09' 600RR | Jade (ASV Shorties / Jardine RT-One)
96' 900RR | Jessica Alba (Wiseco/Erion/D&D/RaceTech/too many to list)

MSF Basic Rider Course Locations - http://nm.msf-usa.org/msf/ridercourses.aspx?
Houston Press News - http://www.houstonpress.com/2005-10-...speed-racers/1
Wind Chill Calculator - http://www.ridemyown.com/windchill.shtml
A* Ridge Waterproof Riding Boots Review - https://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=204100

Last edited by ctekguy; 03-24-2012 at 12:04 PM. Reason: *Jack, not Jake..lol and another typo..it's early in the morning..hush! ; )
ctekguy is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to ctekguy For This Useful Post:
fraschusa (03-24-2012)
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-24-2012, 11:43 AM
Moto GP Racer
 
DepPravacion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,219
Thanks: 223
Thanked 224 Times in 183 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
there is a JP movie called Battle Royale
its similar to this, very cool movie.

have not seen hunger games yet though, looks cool i suppose


RIP PHATTY
05/08/1980-10/19/2010
VOTE RON PAUL 2012
DepPravacion is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-24-2012, 06:57 PM
Knee Dragger
 
thenate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
It was lame but I'm a pretty cranky critic. Barely worth the matinee price.
thenate is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-27-2012, 01:34 AM Thread Starter
World Superbike Racer
 
ctekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,075
Thanks: 80
Thanked 105 Times in 78 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
$155 million opening weekend in the states, $214 million globally! That's insane!!!

http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/...82O0AS20120326

Currently own:
09' 600RR | Jade (ASV Shorties / Jardine RT-One)
96' 900RR | Jessica Alba (Wiseco/Erion/D&D/RaceTech/too many to list)

MSF Basic Rider Course Locations - http://nm.msf-usa.org/msf/ridercourses.aspx?
Houston Press News - http://www.houstonpress.com/2005-10-...speed-racers/1
Wind Chill Calculator - http://www.ridemyown.com/windchill.shtml
A* Ridge Waterproof Riding Boots Review - https://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=204100
ctekguy is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-27-2012, 01:50 AM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
N_Sandhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,157
Thanks: 50
Thanked 132 Times in 113 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Looks like a chick-flick action movie IMO. A whole bunch of my girl-friends went to go watch it as a girl-night. Not judging any dude that went to go see it, or saying it isn't a manly movie...I'm just saying a lot of girls are crazy about this movie/book.



Matte Black & Gold 03 600RR
  • Two Brothers Slip-On
  • VOLT HID Headlights 5000K
  • HID Low Beam Kill Switch
  • Integrated Taillight
  • Flushmount Signals
  • OES Frame Sliders
  • Gold Shorty Levers
  • Gold Reflective Time Attack
  • Solo Cowl
  • Dark Smoke Windscreen
My ReBuild Thread
N_Sandhu is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-27-2012, 02:07 AM Thread Starter
World Superbike Racer
 
ctekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,075
Thanks: 80
Thanked 105 Times in 78 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by N_Sandhu View Post
Looks like a chick-flick action movie IMO. A whole bunch of my girl-friends went to go watch it as a girl-night. Not judging any dude that went to go see it, or saying it isn't a manly movie...I'm just saying a lot of girls are crazy about this movie/book.
LMAO..

And how is this a bad thing??? I was loving life and the movie wasn't half bad either..

Currently own:
09' 600RR | Jade (ASV Shorties / Jardine RT-One)
96' 900RR | Jessica Alba (Wiseco/Erion/D&D/RaceTech/too many to list)

MSF Basic Rider Course Locations - http://nm.msf-usa.org/msf/ridercourses.aspx?
Houston Press News - http://www.houstonpress.com/2005-10-...speed-racers/1
Wind Chill Calculator - http://www.ridemyown.com/windchill.shtml
A* Ridge Waterproof Riding Boots Review - https://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=204100
ctekguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 600RR.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome