Anyone got time to give me a review? - 600RR.net
Movie / Music Reviews Got a great movie / CD you just saw/heard and want to let others know aobut it, post your comments here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 01:44 AM Thread Starter
Knee Dragger
 
KwikStix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 242
Thanks: 62
Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anyone got time to give me a review?

I don't know if any of you guys listen to Post Rock Music (ie Explosions in the Sky, Mogwai, Mono, Russian Circles), but I am in a band of this nature. We are called Goodbye, Titan and have just released our first cd this past January.

So anyways, here are a couple Youtube links that you can listen to:



You can go here and listen to the entire album:

http://goodbyetitan.bandcamp.com

I'd love to hear any and all reviews/critiques. I am the drummer, and we have 2 guitarists and a bassist. No Vocals obviously.
KwikStix is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to KwikStix For This Useful Post:
ninja rr (06-11-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 01:57 AM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
SilentSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,116
Thanks: 164
Thanked 160 Times in 145 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Kewl! Monument is my fav.
I suck with reviews, but to me, you all play really well together and it shows in the music you make. Keep it up :)

Also, stay away from my sister... she would easily have your babies...

----------------
600rr 11

Last edited by SilentSun; 06-11-2012 at 04:50 AM.
SilentSun is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to SilentSun For This Useful Post:
KwikStix (06-11-2012)
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 02:09 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 2,603
Thanks: 812
Thanked 122 Times in 113 Posts
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
okay well....first off the band name = Beautiful
next: that drummer rocks! {-- j/k j/k
third: melody and rhythm are spot on mate
fourth: lyricist? que paso? methinks u need some amazing hot lead with a ear-splitting (at poignant times) voice
I shall research my area and get back to you on this last review point.
ninja rr is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to ninja rr For This Useful Post:
KwikStix (06-11-2012)
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 02:52 AM Thread Starter
Knee Dragger
 
KwikStix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 242
Thanks: 62
Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentSun View Post
Kewl! Monument is my fav.
I suck with reviews, but to me, you all play really well together and it shows in the music you make. Keep it up :)

Also, stay away from my sister... she would easily have your babys...
Thanks! I really do enjoy playing with these guys, it's just easy to make music with them which is not always the case in most bands.

Side Fact: The beginning of Monument is actually played with a Violin Bow... we have some live recordings of us on youtube you can watch to see this.

And this sister you speak of... Is it b/c I'm an amazing guy with a super personality and a good job? Or b/c I play drums? hahahaha Not to worry considering you are literally Half a world away from me ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninja rr View Post
okay well....first off the band name = Beautiful
next: that drummer rocks! {-- j/k j/k
third: melody and rhythm are spot on mate
fourth: lyricist? que paso? methinks u need some amazing hot lead with a ear-splitting (at poignant times) voice
I shall research my area and get back to you on this last review point.
Hahaha ;) ;)

The band name comes from an Orson Wells book, apparently... they had it already when I joined.

We have actually had vocalists audition, and it never pans out. But we leave it as an open challenge: If you can put lyrics to one of our songs and make it work, then let us know. But personally, I enjoy playing in a band that has no lyricist because 1) You don't have that ego to worry about, and 2) It is all about the musicianship... ie we don't have to sacrifice talent in instruments for a vocalist. It becomes almost theatrical and we get to have a lot of fun with it.

This song is what I call our "Zombie" song... b/c I can imagine running from zombies to it haha

KwikStix is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 03:03 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 2,603
Thanks: 812
Thanked 122 Times in 113 Posts
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by KwikStix View Post
We have actually had vocalists audition, and it never pans out. But we leave it as an open challenge: If you can put lyrics to one of our songs and make it work, then let us know. But personally, I enjoy playing in a band that has no lyricist because 1) You don't have that ego to worry about, and 2) It is all about the musicianship... ie we don't have to sacrifice talent in instruments for a vocalist. It becomes almost theatrical and we get to have a lot of fun with it.

This song is what I call our "Zombie" song... b/c I can imagine running from zombies to it haha

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=723A5nrG59o
I think you could make a lot of money with that special lyricist tho. just sayin. I understand about egomania and that that's why its difficult to find the right fila.

And the zombie song is on my to do list. *YAAAWWWWWNNNN* but freakin epic idea!

Thank you for finally clarifying your user name too. heehee
ninja rr is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to ninja rr For This Useful Post:
KwikStix (06-11-2012)
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 03:12 AM Thread Starter
Knee Dragger
 
KwikStix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 242
Thanks: 62
Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninja rr View Post
I think you could make a lot of money with that special lyricist tho. just sayin. I understand about egomania and that that's why its difficult to find the right fila.

And the zombie song is on my to do list. *YAAAWWWWWNNNN* but freakin epic idea!

Thank you for finally clarifying your user name too. heehee
Anytime ;)

And I feel you on the yawn... it's 3:15am here, and I'm going to be passing out now.
KwikStix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 600RR.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome