Seriously guys, the issue was not that he went through the chicane but that he didn't enter the track in the correct manner aka the white lines. Why didn't he enter the track in the correct manner, well he decided that the Emperor doesn't need to attend safety meetings where the rules were clearly explained. Should he get a pass for not attending safety meetings where rules are explained? Should be get a pass for being arrogant enough to assume the rules explained in the safety meetings either didn't apply to him or he knows everything there is to know about the matter? Like I said before the ruling was very HARSH but fair.
"... a chicane consisting of white lines on the run off area, then a narrow path delineated by more white lines serving as the entrance to the track. The riders were told during the briefing on Thursday afternoon about the situation at chicane, and the rules which were to be observed should they find themselves going straight on at the chicane. Any rider going straight on three times during the race would be penalized with a ride-through penalty, a punishment applied to Noriyuki Haga during race one. Additionally, any rider not returning to the track via the appointed path (by following the white lines) would also be given a ride-through penalty.
One rider had not attended the briefing, however. That rider was Max Biaggi, and so when the Italian found himself running straight on at the chicane - despite sitting on a comfortable lead of nearly six seconds - he compounded the simple error (not braking in time) with a much more severe one (rejoining the race without following the correct procedure). Despite the fact that Biaggi gained little or no advantage, Race Direction had to apply the rules, and imposed a ride-through on the Italian, turning his 6-second lead into a 20-second deficit, and dropping him 11 places in the process. Biaggi had the opportunity at Monza to rake back 32 points from the championship leader Carlos Checa, but his lack of foresight in attending the rider briefing meant that he got less than half that.
In effect, Biaggi's lapse of judgment cost the reigning World Champion 17 points, and it could have been more if he hadn't had a little help from a mechanical problem for Checa in the final laps of race two. 17 points can be a lot, and the title has been settled by less than that four times in the past ten years. Max Biaggi is a five-time world champion, four times in 250s and once in World Superbikes. He really should have known better."